LibGuides: Bioinformatics: European Bioinformatics Institute_Tools

More resources on Mol. Biol.

Bioinformatics is an interdisciplinary science that combines, Biology, Computer Science, Statistics, Mathematics, and Chemistry. Bioinformatics is the managing of large amounts of biological information generated from research using advanced computational methods/programs. Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czqsQkrZ4sg

EMBL-EBI
EMBL-EBI provides freely available data from life science experiments, performs basic research in computational biology and offers an extensive user training programme, supporting researchers in academia and industry. Video
ExPASy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
ExPASy is the new SIB (Swiss) Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc. (Categories in the left menu). On this portal you find resources from many different SIB groups as well as external institutions. Video
Eukaryotic Promoter Database
The Eukaryotic Promoter Database is an annotated non-redundant collection of eukaryotic POL II promoters, for which the transcription start site has been determined experimentally. Access to promoter sequences is provided by pointers to positions in nucleotide sequence entries. Video
ProtParam
ProtParam is a tool which allows the computation of various physical and chemical parameters for a given protein stored in Swiss-Prot or TrEMBL or for a user entered sequence. The computed parameters include the molecular weight, theoretical pI, amino acid composition, atomic composition, extinction coefficient, estimated half-life, instability index, aliphatic index and grand average of hydropathicity. Documentation
SMART
The focus of SMART is to search for evolutionarily conserved protein domains rather than small sites of post-translational modification.
Transeq
Transeq translates nucleic acid sequences to the corresponding peptide sequence. It can translate in any of the 3 forward or three reverse sense frames, or in all three forward or reverse frames, or in all six frames.
UniProt
The Universal Protein Resource (UniProt) is a comprehensive resource for protein sequence and annotation data. The UniProt databases are the UniProt Knowledgebase (UniProtKB), the UniProt Reference Clusters (UniRef), and the UniProt Archive (UniParc). Tutorial
The Electron Microscopy Data Bank (EMDB) at PDBe
The Electron Microscopy Data Bank (EMDB) is a public repository for electron microscopy density maps of macromolecular complexes and subcellular structures. It covers a variety of techniques, including single-particle analysis, electron tomography, and electron (2D) crystallography. EMBL-EBI resources: an introduction