Humanities: Other

Provides searchable full-text access to a modern English translation of all the available Latin, Anglo-Norman, and Middle English parliamentary documents produced in England between 1275 and 1504.

Provides full-text access to the British House of Commons and House of Lords papers from 1688 to the present. These are among the richest and most detailed primary sources available for the study of British and British colonial history. As the working papers of government, they encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.

Thousands of papers presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757 relating to England's activities in North America and the West Indies. Also provides access to 40,000 bibliographic records contained in The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.

The core of the material is a collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.

These links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history).

Victorian Popular Culture is an excellent resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This portal invites users into the darkened halls, small backrooms and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic and spiritualist séances.

This edition of the collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from 1500 to 1900, including several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from 290 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions (Publisher).

Provides access to approximately 120,000 pages of diaries and letters written by more than 1,000 Canadian and American women.

Covers a broad range documents arranged thematically around topics such as conduct and politeness, domesticity and the family, consumption and leisure, education, and the body. Includes manuscripts, printed works and illustrations to address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.

Contains over 1400 authors and over 100 000 pages of primary works: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts as well as images of early encounters.

A growing body of primary documents (including books, government documents and reports, and periodicals) relating to Canadian culture and history mostly from the nineteenth century.

Provides access to correspondence, reports, and other documents submitted to or issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices relating to Canada, the United States, and the Caribbean.

Offers a wide range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.

From the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict, Confidential Print: Middle East is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying the modern Middle East. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today