Art, Architecture and Design: Indexes and Databases

Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention.

Indexes articles and other document types including art reproductions from international publications. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, painting, photography and sculpture. Coverage is 1929-1984.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Covers material published between 1975 and 2007.

The Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. The Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA and RILA.

An international index to 450+ design and craft journals. Subject covered include architecture, all aspects of design (including industrial), ceramics, glass, jewellery, fashion, illustration, photography, advertising, marketing and craft education, history, and management. Includes reviews of books, videos and CD-ROMs. Coverage is 1973 - 2001.

The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.

A single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a number of disciplines including Art, Architecture and Design. Choose a subject area or select specific databases to conduct a search. Includes the following databases: Artbibliographies Modern, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, and the Design and Applied Arts Index.

A useful database for researching topics related to Canadian current affairs and public policy. Also useful to search for material relating to Canadian arts and culture. Coverage is from 1982 - present.

Includes Canadian and international academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in both English and French. All subjects are represented, with an emphasis on Canadian and international issues. Many articles are full text. Coverage is from 1988 - present.