LibGuides: Biochemistry: Physical & Chemical Properties

Physical & Chemical Properties

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
A comprehensive handbook of constants, properties, and data for every branch of science.
Kaye & Laby
The free online edition of this classic reference work. Contains tables of physical and chemical constants in SI units. Maintained by the National Physical Laboratory (UK).
Combined Chemical Dictionary
“This dictionary is a structured database containing detailed information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical, and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature reference; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.” Contains over 500,000 compounds.
ChemIDPlus
A dictionary of 400,000 chemicals. Part of the TOXNET. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Reaxys accesses the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
SciFinder
Contains property data for more than 89 million substances.
PubChem
Contains property data on over 145 million substances.
ChemSpider
Contains property data on over 30 million substances.
Knovel Handbooks
A searchable collection of handbooks on science and engineering topics, including chemistry and chemical engineering.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Searchable data collections from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) covering thermochemical and reaction data for organic and inorganic compounds, spectra, constants of diatomic molecules, ion energetics, and thermophysical data.
The Merck Index
"A source of data on over 10,000 compounds chosen particularly for their importance in biology, medicine, and ecology."

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by James Speight
ISBN: 9781259586095
Publication Date: 2016-10-05
Facts, data, tabular material, conversion tables, and experimental findings such as spectroscopic data, including the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Also covers naturally occurring chemicals and chemical sources such as coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals.

Springer's Handbook of Enzymes
"Offers concise and complete description of about 5,000+ enzymes sufficiently well characterized as well as their application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes, in food industry, and for medicinal treatments."
Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
“DCCC is a carefully edited database containing the 25,000 most frequently cited compounds used by chemists. It contains the top 25,000 most commonly cited compounds in Chemical Abstracts (excluding polymers and biologicals).”
Dictionary of Drugs
“Containing over 40,000 pharmacologically active compounds, this dictionary represents the ultimate resource for medicinal and pharmaceutical chemists. Coverage includes all currently marketed drugs, pharmacological tools, compounds in the later stages of clinical trials and pharmaceutical excipients.”
Dictionary of Marine Natural Products
"A comprehensive resource for more than 48,000 known natural products drawn from marine organisms."
Dictionary of Food Compounds
"Comprehensive information on 67,000 compounds found in food, including additives, flavours, natural food constituents, contaminants and nutraceuticals."
Polymers: A Property Database
"Provides scientific and commercial information on over 1,050 polymers."
Open Data Melting Points of Organic Compounds
A curated collection of melting points of organic compounds derived from open data sources.
ThermoDex
A database of references for thermochemical and thermophysical properties of chemical substances. Points to the print or web resource in which the property in question may be found.

Spectra

PubChem

Spectra are linked from the substance records in each of the below databases unless otherwise stated.

ChemSpider
SciFinder
Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Reaxys accesses the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
Contains spectra for over 34,000 organic compounds. Maintained by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) of Japan.
NIST Physical Reference Data
Contains both atomic and molecular spectroscopy data. Maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
MassBank
Contains over 40,000 mass spectra. Maintained by the Mass Spectrometry Society of Japan.
NMRShiftDB
"An NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra."