Simultaneously search many NCBI (National Centre for Biotechnology Information) databases, such as dbVar (genome structural variation studies), Gene (collected information about gene loci), Structure (experimentally-determined biomolecular structures), BioSystems (molecular pathways with links to genes, proteins, and chemicals, and PubChem BioAssay (bioactivity screening studies). Learn more about each of these databases and more in the NCBI Handbook.
“A comprehensive, high quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information.” Maintained by the European Bioinformatics Institute.
“A single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.” Maintained by the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics.
“A public data repository for proteomics data, including protein and peptide identifications, post-translational modifications and supporting spectral evidence.” Maintained by the European Bioinformatics Institute.
“Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, respectively.
"Provides access to scientific databases and software tools (i.e., resources) in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc." Maintained by the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics.
The main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. The database consists of data extracted from primary literature & critically evaluated by scientists.
The definitive list of over 6700 enzymes, produced by the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (NC-IUBMB), in consultation with the IUPAC-IUBMB Joint Commission on Biochemical Nomenclature (JCBN).
Includes a link to search the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) Recommendations database directly.
About
Data repositories store data created by researchers. Most of them are freely accessible to the public. The data repositories listed here are only a small portion of the many that exist.
