LibGuides: Italian Studies: Articles Databases

Finding journal articles

Each database, below, brings together a number of different journals and other resources into one search engine. Search these databases to find references, abstracts and/or full-text articles from scholarly journals, etc., on your topic.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles and other publications pertaining to world literatures, languages, linguistics and folklore from 1926 to the present. International coverage.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes 2,000 journals, book reviews, conference papers, book chapters and dissertations. Contains citations in both theoretical and applied linguistics. Major subjects include language development, second language acquisition, psycholinguistics, phonology, morphology, nonverbal communication, hearing and speech. Coverage is from 1973 to the present.

Francis & Pascal This link opens in a new window
A multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences worldwide, with a particular focus on European publications. Includes references to Italian-language materials. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference papers and other documents published worldwide, with abstracts and subject descriptors in French or English. Coverage is from 1984 to the present.

America: History & Life
Indexes literature about all aspects and time periods of Canadian and American history. International in scope. Includes references to articles, books, media reviews and dissertations. Coverage from 1964 to the present.
Useful for the study of Italian emigration & immigration.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes over 2500 journals in the theoretical and applied aspects of sociology. International content. Coverage is 1952 to present.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly
Indexes Canadian academic journals, magazines and newspapers. Includes selected full-text sections of 'The Globe and Mail.' All subjects are represented, with an emphasis on Canadian issues. Some articles are full text. Coverage is 1980 to present.
Google Scholar
A subset of Google, Google Scholar allows users to search for articles from all disciplines, with a focus on scholarly and scientific information.
Humanities International Index
Covers over 1000 journals published from 1975 to the present, including many smaller journals and publications unavailable in other reference sources. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of on-going journal content, including coverage of all original creative works, such as poetry and fiction.

Search Tips

Boolean operators: Most internet and electronic databases follow the rules of Boolean logic. Boolean logic refers to the relationships (connections or differences) among different search terms. The most common Boolean operators are:

OR - combines synonyms (e.g. "self-actualization" OR "self-identity"). Broadens the search to retrieve more results.

AND - links different terms together in a single search (e.g. "behavioural" AND "psychology"). Narrows the search for fewer results.

Advanced search: allows you to specialize your search based on documents (books, articles, video etc), date, geographic location, language, etc.

Need Help?

Visit a research assistance desk at one of the libraries.

Call 416-736-5150 (press 3).