Critical Race Studies: Dictionaries & encyclopedias

This dictionary provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to race and ethnicity, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.

The Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations deals with complex issues around ethnicity and racial relations through in-depth articles which both define and analyze terms.

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language ever produced. Includes definitions, quotations, and full etymologies. All are searchable.

This encyclopedia presents a comprehensive look at the role race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives. Containing nearly 600 entries, this resource provides a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective.

Covers key terms, concepts and debates related to race and ethnic studies. Includes historical events, landmark cases and bibliographical references. Available online and in print.

Whether a First Nation, founding people, or subsequent arrival, all Canada's peoples are described in 119 individual entries that range from Acadians to Ukrainians, Hyderabadis to Vietnamese. In each instance an entry covers the origin of the group, the process of migration, arrival and settlement, economic and community life, family and kinship patterns, language and culture, education, religion, politics, intergroup relations, and the dynamics of group maintenance. Entries are cross-referenced and include tables, graphs, and suggestions for further reading. Several thematic essays are also included to illuminate the complex issues related to immigration, assimilation, multiculturalism, and Canadian culture and identity.

A two volume set covering the impact upon the immigrants and the immigrant societies relevant to the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in the world's diasporas. Includes essays on over 20 ethnic groups that have experienced voluntary or forced immigration and 60 portraits of specific diaspora communities.

A comprehensive and credible general knowledge encyclopedia. In addition to 72,000 articles on topics in every discipline, the Encyclopedia Britannica Online also provides links to 130,000 websites that have been selected and reviewed by Britannica's editorial board of experts.

The online version of a classic Canadian reference work. Useful for finding basic information on people, themes and events.