History, Latin American: Archival, Government & Primary Sources

"The Archivo General de Centroamérica (Central American Archives) 1544-1821, in Guatemala, is the most comprehensive collection found anywhere in the world of historical records spanning the period of Spanish rule in the Americas. The holdings of the Archivo include myriad types of documents covering a host of cultural, legislative, judicial, fiscal, economic, religious, military, agricultural and commercial matters pertaining to the Kingdom of Guatemala, an area which, from the time of the Conquest in 1544 through 1821, embraced modern-day Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and the Mexican State of Chiapas."-- Publisher's website

v. 1. General affairs ; Argentina ; Bolivia ; Paraguay -- v. 2. Brazil -- v. 3. British Guiana v. 4. British Guiana ; British Honduras; Chile -- v. 5. Colombia ; Costa Rica ; Dutch Guiana ; Ecuador ; Falkland Islands ; French Guiana ; Guatemala ; Honduras and El Salvador -- v. 6. Mexico ; Nicaragua ; Peru ; Uruguay -- v. 7. Venezuela

Despatches and other correspondence relating to El Salvador, 1930-1945. ca. 1500 items

Relations of state -- Internal affairs of state -- Commerce and commercial relations -- Congresses and conferences -- Relations of state (confidential files) -- Internal affairs of state (confidential files) -- Commerce and commercial relations (confidential files) -- Congresses and conferences (confidential files). ca. 1250 items

This collection features expedition records, original letters and maps of exploration and colonization, and "diaries of discoveries" from South America, from narratives of Columbus' first voyage (at Sloane Ms 1709) to the end of Colonial Spanish rule. The set covers European exploitation, evangelization, and botanical and geographical exploration in South America from Texas to Tierra del Fuego, and features maps, scrolls, descriptions of voyages by sea and river, terrain, flora and fauna, settlement posts, plantations and mines, missionary activities, and "diaries of discoveries."

Territories represented include Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Florida, Guatemala, Guiana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Patagonia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Texas, Uruguay, Venezuela and the West Indies.

Collection of more than 400 printed works from colonial Spanish America, including catechisms, devotional works, hagiographies, religious biographies, orders, sermons, and more. The majority of works are from Mexico and Peru.

Catalogue of British parliamentary papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume series and area studies series, 1801-1900. Z2019.I73 This reprint set includes a selection of 19th century papers and reports dealing with Central and South America. Committee reports and Command papers are included as well as House of Lords committee reports that were communicated to the House of Commons.

"LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. While many of our resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors, our site has also become an important gateway to Latin America for primary and secondary school teachers and students, private and public sector professionals, and just about anyone looking for information about this important region." [from website]

This set contains microfilm copies of titles in Medina's bibliography and represents a history of the Spanish-speaking peoples of the western hemisphere. The completed project will include over 8,000 titles. This is a continuing project.