LibGuides: Education: Research: Theses & dissertations

Finding dissertations or theses on your topic

Use the database "Proquest Dissertations & Theses" to browse topic ideas for your MRP, thesis or dissertation. Before submitting your thesis proposal, ensure that your topic has not already been covered. Once you have identified your thesis topic, begin by using the bibliography of a recent related thesis to get started. For more information, please consult our Theses and Dissertations research guide.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
PQDTGlobal is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Dissertations and Theses @ York University
Contains dissertations written from 1967 to the present. You can search by keyword, title, adviser or school. The full-text of most York theses and dissertations submitted between 1967 and the present can be downloaded for free. This service is only available to registered York students and faculty. It generally takes 18-24 months for York PhD dissertations to appear on the database after they are completed.
Theses Canada Portal
The Theses Canada Portal provides free access to the full text electronic versions of theses from universities across Canada.
EThoS
Offers free access to selected full-text versions of British theses, 2008 and on.
more...less...
New theses are digitized and added to the database in response to requests from researchers.
DART
Open access repository of European research theses. Search by keyword or browse by country, university, or year. Full text access.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Provides links to country and region specific dissertation search engines and databases.
Trove: National Library of Australia
Full content access to many of Australia's theses. Limit your search to theses on the advanced search page.

Acquiring a thesis

Finding a thesis at York U
For policies, procedures and holdings at York U.

Can't find what you are looking for? Need help?

Visit us in-person, chat, e-mail, or Zoom with us!
Check out Ask & Services for more information on all modes for on-demand research help!
For in-depth help from a subject or data librarian Book an Appointment online
For after-hours or self-serve help,
search or browse our Library FAQs or submit your question