History, Modern European: Primary sources

Among the topics covered in this collection are:
• Fiscal matters in the Chambre des Comptes, including annuities, appointments and sales of offices
• Taxation and tariffs on goods
• Toll collections, primarily of the 18th century; including tax on river passage through land-owners’ property, with names of owners of genealogical or historical interest
• Bridge and road toll disputes
• Salt taxation, trade and smuggling
• Criminal justice, primarily from 1720 forward
• John Law’s attempts at reorganization of the financial system, including Compagnie des Indes and currency devaluation
• Military administration, including Army and Navy
• Book printing and prohibitions, especially those of religious or political nature
• Persons of significance of the period

Version numérisée de la plus importante collection hors de France, "L’Affaire Dreyfus et la Création de la France moderne" relate la controverse de 1894—date de l’arrestation humiliante de Dreyfus—à 1908, année du transfert officiel des cendres d’Emile Zola au Panthéon.
Forte de plus de 1.000 volumes, la collection contient toutes les publications dreyfusardes les plus connues, tel que l’article de journal "J’accuse" de Zola en 1898, ainsi que certains documents d’archive rarement vus. Des documents provenant d’un large éventail de pays et témoignant de tous les aspects de la controverse reflètent l’étendue et la profondeur de l’attention que suscita l’Affaire Dreyfus à la fin du 19e siècle.
"L’Affaire Dreyfus et la Création de la France moderne" comprend:
• la plupart des titres nommés par la bibliographie Desachy—la référence en ce qui concerne la période 1894-1904
• des documents principalement en français mais aussi en anglais, allemand, italien, espagnol, hollandais et suédois
• des publications jamais réimprimées
• des documents très peu exhibés en raison de leur fragilité et leur rareté.
Les documents représentatifs:
• Des écrits des figures principales telles que Bernard Lazare, Georges Clémenceau, Maurice Barres, Emile Zola, Jean Jaurès, Yves Guyot, Ferdinand Walsin Esterhazy, Francis de Pressensé, Emile Duclaux, l’Abbé Pichot, Louis Havet, Jules Lemaître, ainsi que des centaines d’auteurs moins connus.
• Des monographies, pamphlets, coupures de journaux et dessins.
• Des transcriptions des principaux procès indépendamment publiées.

Drawn from the best available critical editions, EE is not simply an “electronic bookshelf” of isolated texts but a network of interconnected documents, allowing you to see the complex web of personal relationships in the early modern period and the making of the modern world.
But that's not all. The EE team have created an ongoing programme of expanding, linking and original scholarly research to give you:
• thousands of newly composed biographical notes;
• tens of thousands of corrections of minor errors;
• scores of thousands of expansions of abbreviations and sigles;
• hundreds of thousands of internal links and cross-references
Letters and lives in Electronic Enlightenment
The rich variety of people in EE represents a real cross-section of early modern society in Europe and the Americas. By treating every correspondent — not only the “great men” — as someone significant, EE reveals the existence of the myriad unknown and ignored figures of the period and raises questions about their place in the structures of their time, challenging the traditional concept of the “Enlightenment” as the preserve of philosophers.
Through EE you can see the ideas and concerns not only of thinkers and scholars, politicians and diplomats, but also butchers and housewives, servants and shopkeepers. With a wealth of personal detail revealed in these personal documents, you can explore as never before the relationships, correspondence networks and movement of ideas, the letters and lives of the early modern world.

These sources provide a rich seam of information on subjects such as:
• daily life and routines in the army and auxiliary services
• trench warfare and conditions in the trenches
• food and supplies
• battles and warfare
• training and discipline
• weapons and equipment
• camaraderie and friendship
• death
• health and medicine
• thoughts on the enemy
More complex themes of faith, morale, citizenship, mortality, masculinity, race and class can also be explored.
A wide variety of primary source materials are provided including:
• Diaries and journals
• Letters
• Personal narratives and reminiscences
• Trench literature and soldiers’ journals
• Postcards
• Scrapbooks and albums
• Photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects
• Sketches and paintings
• Ephemera
• Sheet music
• Photographs
• War art
• Cartoons and comics
• Propaganda and recruiting posters
• Trench maps
Individual personal collections provide excellent case studies for student project work while the scope and extent of the collection enables in-depth and comparative research.
Supplementing the primary source material is a wealth of secondary resources, including interactive maps, 360° panoramas and walk-throughs of the Sanctuary Wood Trench System, the Memory Wall, In Their Own Words feature, scholarly essays, a slideshow gallery, chronology and glossaries.

The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. We include letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.

The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.

The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.

There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.

Although the War in Europe ended officially in May 1945, the struggle continued for the millions of homeless people who had been displaced as a result of military action, deportation into labour or concentration camps, local racism and discrimination or the relocation of national borders. The burden of the refugee problem taxed the Allied governments and Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) relief groups in their attempts to administer, feed and house a moving people searching for their lost families and a permanent home.

A rapid repatriation programme was organized but many Displaced Persons ("DPs") could not or would not return to their homelands. Emigration programmes struggled against the reluctance of nations outside Europe to assist in the resolution of this humanitarian catastrophe.

Here is evidence for both the macro political issues and the day-to-day survival of the DPs themselves:

* The role of the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Commission
* The international response to the refugee crisis in Europe
* Life in the DP camps
* The rise of Zionism and determination to secure a Jewish homeland in Palestine
* The Soviet attitude to refugees from Eastern Europe and the breakdown in US/Soviet relations
* Reports and statistics on refugees by country

Post-War Europe is an essential resource for:

* World War II Studies
* Displaced Persons and Refugee Studies
* Holocaust and Jewish Studies
* Post-War History of Germany, Eastern Europe, Yugoslavia, Greece and Italy

The Atlantic triangular trade started much later. Slavery as an institution goes back much further to the ancient Mediterranean civilisations of Egypt, Greece, the Roman Empire, Assyria and the Islamic Caliphate. A few rare books included within this project will look back to these earlier periods, but our principal focus here will be 1490-2007. This project provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour.

Scanned from the microfilm collection “A Change in Attitude: Women, War and Society, 1914-1918”, published by the Cengage Learning imprint Primary Source Microfilm™ along with an additional 5000 photographs and press-cuttings from the Imperial War Museum, Women, War and Society features a fully searchable database of approximately 126,000 images. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material to be quickly searched by academics and students, local and family historians, writers and researchers. With full-text search capabilities, researchers can conduct precise searches and comparative research across the collection.

Not only does Women, War and Society enable researchers to search contemporary materials in a wide variety of formats – pamphlets, letters, news-cuttings, photographs, letters, reports and many other document types, but its state-of-the-art search capabilities allow students and scholars to focus their search on full text, specific keywords or phrases, title, subject and more, making research far more convenient and generating comprehensive results faster than any other resource of its kind. From the results list, the user then has the ability to link directly to the full citation for the document, and facsimile images. Women, War and Society also includes advanced page navigation options, allowing users to navigate within multi-image records such as pamphlets by using a list on the side of the screen to navigate between pages.

About the Women, War and Society Film Collection
Originally accrued between 1917 and 1920, the “Women’s Work Collection” contained art, models, documents, uniforms, badges, books, photographs and memorabilia, which have since been dispersed among the Museum’s departments. The core however, remains the documents within the Printed Books department, published on microfilm in 1984. The contents of the 189 boxes of papers, 20 press-cutting albums and journals represent a challenging range of type and size of archival file for digitisation, but a full and authentic record of the wide range of new tasks, skills and activities women took up during the First World War.