LibGuides: Gender & the Law: Statutes & Cases

Statutes, Regulations & Case Law

Statutes, regulations and case law on the subject of gender and the law can be found in the following databases through the library catalogue or the eResources @ Osgoode page.

CanLII
CanLII provides free access to Canadian legislation and cases.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides full text access to the United States Code and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. (Access is for law and York University faculty and students only).
JustisOne
Justis provides full text access to UK, Irish, Scottish, European Union, Caribbean legislation and cases. (Access is for law and York University faculty and students only).
Nexis Uni
This resource provides access to Canadian, American and international legislation and (Access is for law and York University faculty and students only).
Lexis+ Canada
This resource provides access to Canadian and international legislation and (Access is for law and York University faculty and students only).
Westlaw Edge Canada
Westlaw Edge Canada provides access to Canadian, American and international legislation and cases. (Access is for Osgoode Hall Law School faculty and students only).
Westlaw Edge Canada (Canadian content)
Westlaw Edge Canada (Canadian content) provides access to Canadian legislation, case law and journals. Access to this database is for the York community, Passport York ID and password required for log in off campus.
WorldLII
WorldLII provides free access to legislation and cases from over 123 jurisdictions.

Treaties and International Materials

Relevant information about gender discrimination and equality can be found in treaties and international documents. HeinOnline and World Constitutions Illustrated can be accessed from the library catalogue or through the eResources @ Osgoode page. The other resources are available on the Internet.

Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action
The Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action was adopted at the Fourth World Conference on Women 1995. The Declaration promotes women's empowerment and provides action plans for the following areas as it relates to women:
poverty, education and training, health, violence against women, armed conflict, economy, human rights, media, environment and the girl child.
Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women
The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women was adopted in 1979 by the United Nations General Assembly. It defines what constitutes discrimination against women and sets up an agenda for national action to end such discrimination.
HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
This database provides access to major United Nations legal publications such as the UN Treaty Series, League of Nations Treaty Series and a host of others. It is searchable and provides links to scholarly articles referring to a particular treaty.(Access for law and York University faculty and students only).
Inter-American Convention on the Prevention, Punishment & Eradication of Violence Against Women "Convention of Belem De Para"
The Convention on the Prevention, Punishment and Eradication of Violence Against Women or Convention of Belem de Para is a treaty of the Organisation of American States(OAS). It was adopted on June 1, 1994 and it affirms violence against women is a violation of their fundamental human rights and should be eliminated.
United Nations Official Document System
This database provides full-text access to full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
United Nations Treaty Collection (Treaty Series)
This database provides access to multilateral treaties that have been deposited at the office of the United Nations Secretary-General.
Some of its features include the Status of Treaties page which states the up--to-date information about the treaties such as participants, corrections and amendments, date and method of entry into force, title, date and place of conclusion.
World Constitutions Illustrated
This is a comprehensive access to constitutions of every country in the world with links to scholarly articles, online resources and bibliographic references. (Access for law and York University faculty and students only).

Canadian Case Law and Legislation Guides

For more information on finding legislation see:

Canadian Legislation and Parliamentary Materials research guide
Canadian Legislative Research Workshop Recording and Presentation slides (Nov. 3, 2021)

For more information on finding cases see:

Researching Canadian Cases research guide
Canadian Case Law Workshop Recording and Presentation slides (Nov. 10, 2021)