Foreign and Comparative Law: Indexes & Databases

Background information on countries as well as references to sources.

Search or browse more than 1,600 volumes and 1 million pages of the world's best international law publications, including yearbooks and series from the American Society of International Law and the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice.

This database demonstrates that the roots of English common law can be found in the deep recesses of European history. The collection includes works of some of the great legal theorists, such as Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, and others. The Foreign Law component includes foreign legal treatises, commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, and festschriften from a variety of countries. The Comparative Law component features books that compare more than one legal system and includes Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law.

Collection of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Includes crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Indexes legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American), international, comparative and transnational law and legal systems. Documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews.