LibGuides: Business: Journal Articles

Indexes and Databases

Indexes and Databases bring together a number of different online journals and other resources into one search engine. Use these tools to find citations, abstracts and/or full text articles, reports and other resources on your topic. Both scholarly, trade and popular articles may be included.

Journal Articles

Proquest Business
This database facilitates searching across four business-related databases simultaneously (ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Trade and Industry, CBCA Complete, and ProQuest Asian Business and Reference). Covers thousands of leading business and management publications, including scholarly, trade, popular and news titles. A very large majority of these titles is available in full-text or full-image, with some dating back as far as the 1920s. A wide range of business subjects is covered. This resource also incorporates industry, company and market-focused reports. This ABI Inform LibGuide will give you insight into strategies for using this database platform effectively.

Business Source Complete (Ebsco)
Offers premium content including peer-reviewed and business-related journals, magazines and newspapers, including scholarly, trade, and popular titles. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. Other content includes business e-books, case studies, company profiles, country economic reports, faculty seminar videos, industry reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and working paper collections.
Scholars Portal Journals
Provides a single point of full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed scholarly journals from a broad range of disciplines. Journals covered include reputable publishers, e.g, Academic Press , Berkely Electronic Press, Cambridge University Press, Emerald Publishing, Elsevier Science, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Oxford University Press, Project MUSE, Springer, and John Wiley & Sons.
Google Scholar
A subset of regular Google, this database allows users to search for scholarly articles, conference proceedings, and books from all disciplines. Learn how to set your Google Scholar preferences on your home computer so that you can search York's journal subscriptions through Google!

Articles in Canadian Journals & Magazines

CBCA. Reference & Current Events : Business
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of Canadian topics including the areas of business and current affairs. Offers references, and many full text articles, from Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers, and newswires. Dates of coverage vary by title but some full-text titles are available back to the early or mid-1980s, while citations for many publications are available from the early 1970s onward.

Articles in Trade Journals

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (Proquest)
Covers several thousand trade publications (mainly trade magazines and journals) with a large majority available in full-text format. A very useful source of information for current and historical trade and industry news and developments with coverage to current day and extending back to 1975. This ABI Inform LibGuide will give you insight into strategies for using this database platform effectively.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers premium content including peer-reviewed and business-related journals, magazines and newspapers, including scholary, trade, and popular titles. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.

Interdisciplinary Databases with Business Coverage

Proquest
A single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a number of disciplines. It is possible to search across all 50 + Proquest databases or to limit searches to subject areas including business, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, social sciences and more.

Quick Guides: Finding Articles

Finding Newspaper Articles Guide

BRYT Video - Searching for articles

Search Tips

When searching online, various words are used to help broaden or narrow your search. Here are a few tips you should know before searching any academic database:

Boolean operators: Most internet and electronic databases follow the rules of boolean logic. Boolean logic refers to the relationships (connections or differences) between different search terms. The most common boolean operators are:

AND - used to narrow a search and establish more relevant results by linking keywords together (e.g. "behavioural" and "psychology").

OR - broadens a search and get more results. Typically used for synonyms and words with variant spellings (e.g. "self-actualization" and "self-identity").

NOT - use to narrow a search and get more relevant results (e.g. "behaviouralism" not "humanism").

Truncation: used to find similar words with different endings

e.g. human* searches "human and humans"

e.g. educat* searches "education", "educate", "educational" etc

asterisk (*) searches for various different endings of a word in most databases (including York University), however LexisNexis uses an exlamation mark (!).

Other Tips

Advanced Search - this option is available on most databases, and allows you to specialize your search based on documents (books, articles, video etc), date, geographic location, language, etc.

Quotation Marks - using quotation marks will allow you to search for exact phrases. For example, searching "mental impairment" will only retreive searches with both "mental" and "impairment" together in that order.

Refine Search - many online databases allow you to specify your search criteria after selecting your keywords and clicking on search.