LibGuides: Business: Newspaper articles

Newspaper Articles - Canada

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date or historical information on virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Other resources in Factiva include newswires, news web sites, blogs and podcasts, and many trade and popular magazines. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live webinars.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
This digital newsstand includes thousands of the world's most popular newspapers and magazines published in full text (including images). Major sources: Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, Ottawa Citizen, among others. For more information about News Sources see this YUL LibGuide
PressReader is a digital newspaper distribution and publishing operator with headquarters in Vancouver, Canada and offices in Dublin, Ireland and Manila, Philippines. More information on PressReader

Canadian Major Dailies
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include: National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. More about this database
Creating permalinks to articles in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
An electronic newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail, from1844. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.

Newspaper Articles - International

The following are international newspaper sources.

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Other resources in Factiva include newswires, news web sites, blogs and podcasts, and many trade and popular magazines. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live webinars.
Nexis Uni
Makes available thousands of news, business, and legal information sources. Included are current international newspapers, as well as news magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and newsletters. Tutorial

PressReader This link opens in a new window
This digital newsstand includes thousands of the world's most popular newspapers and magazines published in full text (including images). Major sources: Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, Ottawa Citizen, among others. For more information about News Sources see this YUL LibGuide
PressReader is a digital newspaper distribution and publishing operator with headquarters in Vancouver, Canada and offices in Dublin, Ireland and Manila, Philippines. More information on PressReader
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
This is a great source for studying public affairs and financial history of the last 120 years. Every item printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Topics covered include industry, energy, international politics, management, personal finance and arts. See under Help for search tips.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Economist online as a fully searchable digital collection where articles etc. are provided in PDF format. Includes news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photograph, as well as special surveys and supplements on countries and industries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Wall Street Journal. Eastern ed.
The Wall Street Journal (June 13, 1979- ) from Factiva provides full-text access.

The Wall Street Journal (Jan 2 1984-) from Proquest provides indexing and full-text access.

Full text of the Wall Street Journal July 8 1889- also available in microtext (Scott Library Room 118).

Historical

Quick Guides: Finding Articles

Finding Newspaper Articles Guide

Business: Newspaper articles

Newspaper Articles - Canada

Newspaper Articles - International

Historical

Quick Guides: Finding Articles

BRYT Video - Searching for articles