Legal History: Web Links

This website is available on the Internet and it provides access to Australian cases, legislation and articles from 1700-1907.

The Australian Digital Collection contains digitized historical materials on various subject areas. This is a project from the University Library of the University of Sydney.

This is a reproduction and English translation of the Latin text Bracton: De Legibus Et Consuetudinibus Angliæ
(Bracton on the Laws and Customs of England). It was produced by Ames Foundation, Harvard Law School Library and the Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School.

This website provides access to primary and secondary on the history of the British Isles such as maps, journals, diaries, letters, calendar of state papers etc.

Canadiana.org is a digital documentation of Canada's heritage made up of books, newspapers, periodicals, images and archival materials. The law collection includes journals and monograph titles such as the Canada Law Journal 1867-1922; Women's History Collection featuring memoirs, diaries and collected letters, drama, verse and fiction, printed ephemera, political pamphlets among others.

This website gives online access to the records and acts from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress. It includes the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873 -75.

This website was created by Douglas O. Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School. The website provides links to famous trials from 399 B.C - 2006.

The Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Culture was established in 1943 and is housed on the campus of the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. The Institute's website provides access to information about its activity including publications such as the William and Mary Quarterly.

This is a recording of interviews of emeritus faculty and deans of the George Washington Law School.

The Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History was established in 1979 to promote the publication of work on Canadian legal history as well as to create and preserve an oral history archive. The society has over 80 publications to its name and they are available at the Osgoode Hall Law School Library.

This is a database of historical documents related to the drafting and adoption of the Constitution of Canada.

This website provides access to materials from the Melbourne Law School Rare Books and Legal History Lecture Series.

This website provides access to the Australasian Federal Conventions of 1890s especially debates and proceedings.

The collections include born-digital records and digitized reproductions of archival records, including historical fonds of law practiced in Ontario.

University of Melbourne Law School.

Bodleian Law Library, Oxford University, England.

Tarlton Law Library, University of Texas School of Law, Texas.

Lillian Goldman Law Library, Yale Law School.

Blog of the Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History.

This is the blog page of the American Society of Legal History. It features scholarship, news and new ideas in legal history.

This is the blog page of the European Society for Comparative Legal History.

This is the blog page of the Centre for Legal History at the Edinburgh Law School. It features posts on the study of Scottish and European legal history as well as civil traditions.