LibGuides: Advertising: Industry Reports

Industry Research

Here follows a list of databases and search engines that offer industry reports and offer coverage of the advertising industry.

World Advertising Research Centre (WARC)
A database specializing in marketing, branding and advertising resources. The Topics and Trends options are especially recommended for finding out about developments with different advertising/marketing channels and media and for emerging media trends and technologies. The case studies, research papers and other reports for specific industries are also useful. WARC briefings should also be consulted.
IBISWorld
Includes Canadian and U.S. Industry Reports (NAICS), U.S. Specialized Industry Reports, U.S. Industry iExpert Summaries, Chinese and Global Industry Reports, and U.S. Business Environment Profiles. Includes reports on the advertising industry including specific reports on advertising in different media formats, in addition to reports on advertising agencies. These reports are comprehensive including categories such as: Industry at a glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Operating Conditions and Key Statistics.

Procurement Reports include over 1,000 business-to-business product and service markets in the United States and facilitate industry research especially in areas such as purchasing, supply chain management and strategic sourcing.
Marketline Advantage
Offers a wide range of in-depth market research reports, which include market value, volume and segmentation data, as well as a five forces analysis. Includes coverage of the advertising industry with reports available for many different countries.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal and comprehensive, easy-to-use resource offering access to charts and tables, reports, dossiers, infographics, and a business plan data export feature. It is international in scope with coverage of many sub-industries. Statista draws on secondary sources for statistical information including the government, as well as industry, scientific, marketing, and trade organizations. This resource also offers Statista’s own proprietary/internal statistics generated through research and surveys they conduct with partner organizations. Statista also offers a wide range of consumer and market data, including consumer market forecasts and digital market outlooks.
First Research (via Hoovers)
When the home screen loads you can choose to search advertising by limiting to the category Industries.

First Research is a useful source for reports on advertising and its sub sector industries or related industries in the United States. Examples of reports available include: advertising and marketing services, advertising agencies, and digital advertising services.
Investext via Mergent Online
Investext provides access to analyst reports for publicly-traded companies. The reports are produced by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports include analyses on company and industry financial performance, SWOTs, M&A, trends, challenges, and much more. Investext includes current and historical analyst reports. Quick search tips: (1) Search for a publicly-traded company’s most recent analyst reports using the Company Search field > On report landing page, click Reports tab > click Broker Research reports link; (2) To conduct more advanced searches such as historical reports, initiating coverage reports, or reports from specific investment banks, click on the Investext tab (far right-hand side tab) to go to the advanced search form.
Gartner Intraweb
A specialized e-resource for IT industry research IT issues/areas. Includes some reports which reference mobile and digital advertising trends, and current advertising technologies.

For searching or browsing assistance refer to this helpguide(http://www.library.yorku.ca/binaries/BG/helpguides/Gartner.pdf). Note that a York e-mail address (not a Schulich one) is needed to access this e-resource. To obtain a York e-mail address, if you don’t have one, go to http://mms.yorku.ca and sign in with Passport York. Activate your e-mail service.
Passport
Provides business intelligence on companies, countries, industries, and consumers. This includes some articles and datagraphics relating to the advertising industry. Full-scale industry reports on the advertising sector are not offered through this source.
Market Share Reporter
A ready-reference tool for marketing research and economic analysis. The information is a compilation of market share reports from marketing literature. Over 2000 corporate, brand, product, service and commodity market and SIC code information is provided for North America. This reference book is available in the Reference Room of the Peter F. Bronfman Business Library, S237 Schulich School of Business. The call number is HF 5410 M33.

Industry Codes

When researching competitors it is very important to understand and use industry codes.

This is because industry codes group competitors operating in the same line of business. These codes define industries broadly and narrowly using a hierarchical numbering scheme in most cases. This U.S. guide to the NAICS 2022 codes provides examples.

Note that practically all company databases allow you to search for companies by applying one or more system of industry codes, e.g., NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) or SIC (Standard Industrial Classification).

Please consult our Industry Codes guide for more information.

NAICS Industry Code: Advertising

Advertising, Public Relations, and Related Services (NAICS Code 5418) - Statistics Canada
Consult this guide for further information on the classification structure which applies, i.e. for a list of sub-industries and the associated codes that apply.

Note the same code applies for NAICS USA.

Advertising: Industry Reports

Industry Research

Related Guide

Industry Codes

NAICS Industry Code: Advertising