LibGuides: Gender / Sexuality / Women's Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

What does it mean to access and truly hear an authentic voice? -- it means the difference between first-hand and second-hand knowledge of an issue or period of time. When you use primary sources, you find that individual -- woman of colour, queer activist, transgender person -- who is telling you like it is or like it was. No filters. Learning and reading the story first-hand adds texture, colour, and life to your research and writing. And these stories are everywhere -- in diaries, letters, pamphlets, old newspapers, the minutes of the activists' meeting and maybe even VHS recordings!

Finding Primary Sources

Clara Thomas Special Collections and Archives

The Clara Thomas Special Collections and Archives in Scott Library have physical primary documents -- pamphlets to read, diaries to browse, photographs to examine, oral history recordings, documentary film and much more that is unique and cannot be accessed anywhere else. Archivists can assist you with your research question, but be sure to review this guide first! It is best to go into new territory with a map and some directions. The Archives has a listing of archival fonds related to women's studies with subcategories related to specific topics (labour, sexuality, life writing, etc.) that will help you identify the records of people, organizations, and families that might relate to your research interest. The archives also has a guide for people who are new to conducting archival research.

Digital Collections via York University Libraries

York University Libraries also subscribe to databases of primary source materials. The databases listed below are specific to gender, sexuality and / or women’s studies. Other primary resources guides may also be of interest to you! See the Primary Sources guide for comprehensive information.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
More information.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of nearly 500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
Defining Gender:1450-1910 Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
North American Women's Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
This resource includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in approximately 120,000 pages of diaries and letters. This is a massive, ongoing project to catalog and index Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Researchers will have access to 150,000 pages of materials, including more than 5,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts as facsimile images.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000 This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 123 document projects and archives with 5,100 documents and more than 170,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,700 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Other Sources of Archival Materials

There are many archival institutions and organizations in the area that will hold unique documentation and sources. There are also community-based archives that have online resources that can be accessed remotely. Be sure to review access protocols, registration procedures, and restrictions prior to reaching out and booking an appointment or planning a visit.

Archives of Ontario
The Archives of Ontario are conveniently located at Keele Campus. Patrons must register as a researcher. Some materials may require access clearance and time to retrieve from offsite storage.
The ArQuives
The ArQuives was established to aid in the recovery and preservation of our histories. Its mandate is to: Acquire, preserve, organize, and give public access to information and materials in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada; and Maintain a research library, international research files, and an international collection of queer and trans periodicals.

The ArQuives is the largest independent LGBTQ2+ Archives in the world and since 1973 the only LGBTQ2+ archives in Canada with a national scope, read further about our history and mission.
City of Toronto Archives
At the City of Toronto Archives you can find historical records (information), including: records created by the City of Toronto government; records created by municipal governments that existed before the 1998 amalgamation; papers of people, families, organizations and businesses; photographs
maps, plans and architectural drawings related to the city.
Toronto Public Library Digital Archive
Online collection of digitized material from the holdings of the Toronto Public Library (TPL) including historical photographs, pamphlets, books, posters, etc.
Transgender Archives (University of Victoria)
The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria Libraries is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ people. We are accessible to everyone, free of charge.
Two-Spirit Archives (University of Winnipeg)
The mission of the Two-Spirit Archives is to develop an internationally-renowned centre for research that supports the needs of the Two-Spirit community; makes Two-Spirit people visible in our documentary heritage; and supports the research, teaching, learning, and community mandates of the University. It is guided in its development by the Two-Spirit Archives Advisory Council, which ensures Two-Spirit people are central to preserving the history of their contributions to society and in strengthening their community.

Subject Guide

Anna St.Onge

she/her/they

Acknowledgements

This guide was created and maintained by Kalina Grewal, Teaching and Learning Librarian from 2017 to 2023. It was maintained by Anna St.Onge in 2023-2024. It is now maintained by Jack Leong.