Zotero : Sharing & Organizing

Zotero allows you to collaborate with others by creating groups and building shared group libraries.

To create a group:

• register for a free Zotero account 
• log in to the Zotero.org website
• create new groups under the Groups tab
• set up your group type: Public (Open/Closed) or Private
• manage your group's settings under the Groups tab
• each group has its own page on the Zotero.org website
• you can also create a new group from your Zotero client by clicking on the New Library icon (top left corner) and choosing "New Group" 

Group libraries:

• for group members, a Group Library section appears under My Library (left column) in both the Zotero client and the Zotero.org online Library
• Zotero client: create collections by right clicking on a group library
• Zotero.org online library: create collections by clicking on the + plus sign beside a group library
• group libraries are separate from your personal Zotero library

Check out Zotero.org's Documentation tab for more information on groups.

Syncing, Collaboration, and Backup -- Zotero Groups:
https://www.zotero.org/support/groups

Watch this short video, from the Groups tab:
https://www.zotero.org/groups/

Options for organizing the items in your Zotero library include:

Collections

• Organize your items into multiple collections and subcollections
• Items can be put into more than one collection / subcollection

Tags

• Assign and use tags to search for items across collections
• Colour code your tags and assign them position numbers for even more options when organizing/sorting

Related items

• Use the Related tab to set up relationships between items
• Examples include: parts of a work & the whole work (chapters & books, articles & journals), books & their reviews, different versions or editions of a work, etc.

Sorting

• Click on the column headings to change the sorting order of items in the center pane of your library
• Click on the sort icon beside the column headings for more sorting options

Check out Zotero.org's Documentation tab for more information on organizing items.

Organizing Your Library and Taking Notes -- Collections and Tags:
https://www.zotero.org/support/collections_and_tags

Organizing Your Library and Taking Notes -- Related Items:
https://www.zotero.org/support/related

Organizing Your Library and Taking Notes -- Sorting:
https://www.zotero.org/support/sorting

Register for a Zotero account to:

• sync and backup across devices (300 MB of free storage)
• access your library online from anywhere
• create or join groups

Zotero is hosted in the United States. See its privacy policy.

Check out Zotero's Documentation tab for more guidance and tips. 

Search Zotero's Forums tab to find answers to common questions, or to submit a "New Discussion".

For more options and answers to common problems, go to our Ask & Services Page.