Library Databases - STS3790 - Issues of Science and Technology in Global Development

History of Science, Technology and Medicine

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated quarterly; covers 1975-present.

Historical Abstracts
Covers world history, outside of North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Includes articles on the History and Philosophy of Science. Coverage is from 1954 - present.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. See WoS libguide & training
Web of Science Core Collection includes over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books. More information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. Further, with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research, Scopus empowers you to advance your science beyond the text. For tutorials see Scopus Help.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
IPSA, produced since 1951 by the International Political Science Association, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. The abstracts summarize the source articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. See WPSA LibGuide.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. May also be used as a company research tool with extensive coverage of public and private companies worldwide including corporate overviews, key executives, financial data, press releases, current news and a list of competitors. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live Webinars. Creating Permalinks in Factiva

ProQuest Databases
ProQuest databases provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources including ebooks.