Subject Bibliography in Law: Big Data and Law

This provocative and timely book identifies and disrupts the conventional regulation and governance discourses concerning AI and big data. It suggests that, instead of being used as tools for exclusionist commercial markets, AI and big data can be employed in governing digital transformation for social good. Analysing the ways in which global technology companies have colonised data access, the book reveals how trust, ethics, and digital self-determination can be reconsidered and engaged to promote the interests of marginalised stakeholders in data arrangement. Chapters examine the regulation of labour engagement in digital economies, the landscape of AI ethics, and a multitude of questions regarding participation, costs, and sustainability. Presenting several informative case studies, the book challenges some of the accepted qualifiers of frontier tech and data use and proposes innovative ways of actioning the more conventional regulatory components of big data. Scholars and students in information and media law, regulation and governance, and law and politics will find this book to be critical reading. It will also be of interest to policymakers and the AI and data science community.

From predictive policing to self-surveillance to private security, the potential uses to of big data in crime control pose serious legal and ethical challenges relating to privacy, discrimination, and the presumption of innocence. The book is about the impacts of the use of big data analytics on social and crime control and on fundamental liberties. Drawing on research from Europe and the US, this book identifies the various ways in which law and ethics intersect with the application of big data in social and crime control, considers potential challenges to human rights and democracy and recommends regulatory solutions and best practice. This book focuses on changes in knowledge production and the manifold sites of contemporary surveillance, ranging from self-surveillance to corporate and state surveillance. It tackles the implications of big data and predictive algorithmic analytics for social justice, social equality, and social power: concepts at the very core of crime and social control. This book will be of interest to scholars and students of criminology, sociology, politics and socio-legal studies.

Two of the most important developments of this new century are the emergence of cloud computing and big data. However, the uncertainties surrounding the failure of cloud service providers to clearly assert ownership rights over data and databases during cloud computing transactions and big data services have been perceived as imposing legal risks and transaction costs. This lack of clear ownership rights is also seen as slowing down the capacity of the Internet market to thrive. Click-through agreements drafted on a take-it-or-leave-it basis govern the current state of the art, and they do not allow much room for negotiation. The novel contribution of this book proffers a new contractual model advocating the extension of the negotiation capabilities of cloud customers, thus enabling an automated and machine-readable framework, orchestrated by a cloud broker. Cloud computing and big data are constantly evolving and transforming into new paradigms where cloud brokers are predicted to play a vital role as innovation intermediaries adding extra value to the entire life cycle. This evolution will alleviate the legal uncertainties in society by means of embedding legal requirements in the user interface and related computer systems or its code. This book situates the theories of law and economics and behavioral law and economics in the context of cloud computing and takes database rights and ownership rights of data as prime examples to represent the problem of collecting, outsourcing, and sharing data and databases on a global scale. It does this by highlighting the legal constraints concerning ownership rights of data and databases and proposes finding a solution outside the boundaries and limitations of the law. By allowing cloud brokers to establish themselves in the market as entities coordinating and actively engaging in the negotiation of service-level agreements (SLAs), individual customers as well as small and medium-sized enterprises could efficiently and effortlessly choose a cloud provider that best suits their needs. This approach, which the author calls "plan-like architectures," endeavors to create a more trustworthy cloud computing environment and to yield radical new results for the development of the cloud computing and big data markets. 

When data from all aspects of our lives can be relevant to our health - from our habits at the grocery store and our Google searches to our FitBit data and our medical records - can we really differentiate between big data and health big data? Will health big data be used for good, such as to improve drug safety, or ill, as in insurance discrimination? Will it disrupt health care (and the health care system) as we know it? Will it be possible to protect our health privacy? What barriers will there be to collecting and utilizing health big data? What role should law play, and what ethical concerns may arise? This timely, groundbreaking volume explores these questions and more from a variety of perspectives, examining how law promotes or discourages the use of big data in the health care sphere, and also what we can learn from other sectors.

In this multidisciplinary book, experts from around the globe examine how data-driven political campaigning works, what challenges it poses for personal privacy and democracy, and how emerging practices should be regulated. The rise of big data analytics in the political process has triggered official investigations in many countries around the world, and become the subject of broad and intense debate. Political parties increasingly rely on data analytics to profile the electorate and to target specific voter groups with individualised messages based on their demographic attributes. Political micro-targeting has become a major factor in modern campaigning, because of its potential to influence opinions, to mobilise supporters and to get out votes. The book explores the legal, philosophical and political dimensions of big data analytics in the electoral process. It demonstrates that the unregulated use of big personal data for political purposes not only infringes voters' privacy rights, but also has the potential to jeopardise the future of the democratic process, and proposes reforms to address the key regulatory and ethical questions arising from the mining, use and storage of massive amounts of voter data. Providing an interdisciplinary assessment of the use and regulation of big data in the political process, this book will appeal to scholars from law, political science, political philosophy and media studies, policy makers and anyone who cares about democracy in the age of data-driven political campaigning.

This collection explores the relevance of global trade law for data, big data and cross-border data flows. Contributing authors from different disciplines including law, economics and political science analyze developments at the World Trade Organization and in preferential trade venues by asking what future-oriented models for data governance are available and viable in the area of trade law and policy. The collection paints the broad picture of the interaction between digital technologies and trade regulation as well as provides in-depth analyses of critical to the data-driven economy issues, such as privacy and AI, and different countries' perspectives. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.

This book is a legal practice guide for the collection, storage and analysis of personal and other data in Big Data applications. It contains numerous guidelines and graphic illustrations/graphics to offer well-founded, practice-oriented support. The book illuminates the legal scope of Big Data and at the same time closes a gap in the legal literature on the subject. Its content goes beyond the purely data protection law view and combines questions in the Big Data environment, among others, from the legal sources, the protection of industrial property rights and data protection. In addition to personal data, the book also looks at non-personal data (technical data or anonymous data), which is often mixed together for Big Data analyses. These different types of data may originate from different rightholders, may be subject to different national laws, may require different legal bases and/or may be used for different analysis purposes.

Cloud computing continues to expand dramatically and the 'as a Service' model is now both mainstream and ubiquitous. Cloud now encompasses everything from the remote provision of essential computer processing and storage resources, through to delivery of complex business and governmentservices, logistics, healthcare, education, and entertainment. The Covid-19 pandemic provided a striking demonstration of cloud computing's global scalability and resilience, as billions of workers and students switched in a matter of weeks to working and studying 'from home'. This book delivers anaccessible analysis of the key legal and regulatory issues that surround cloud computing. Topics covered include contracts for cloud services, information ownership and licensing, privacy and data protection, standards and competition law, law enforcement access to data, and international tax modelsfor cloud and other digital services.The book is organised in four parts. Part I explains what cloud computing is, why it matters, and what non-technical readers need to know about how it works. Part II includes a detailed review of standard contracts for 40 cloud services and highlights key legal and commercial issues that arise innegotiated transactions for cloud services. Ownership of, and access to, 'digital assets' are also explored. Part III focusses on the application of data protection and cybersecurity rules, including an in-depth assessment of the impact of the EU's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) onproviders and users of cloud services. Finally, Part IV addresses governance issues relating to public sector use of cloud, access to cloud data by law enforcement authorities, competition rules and standards, and the disruption to global taxation models caused by the rapid shift to cloudservices.

In this timely book, Beata Mäihäniemi analyses and evaluates how the characteristics of information as a good, as well as the characteristics of digital platforms, affect the application of competition law in both theory and practice. Chapters offer a full evaluation and in-depth analysis of several key case studies in which information such as big data has been obtained, made use of, sold, or biased in an uncompetitive way. Such critical case studies include the European Commission's 2017 judgement against Google for granting illegal advantage to their own comparison shopping service, as well as the Bundeskartellamt's decision regarding Facebook's unfair trading terms under which it was gathering users' data without their voluntary consent. Reacting to these cases, the book offers guidance on how competition law can evolve to accommodate digital markets, such as classifying information as 'commons' or 'commodity', in order to realise social goals such as fairness. Compelling and insightful, this book will prove an important companion for students and scholars studying digital markets, as well as competition law more widely. It will also appeal to practitioners working on cases involving the regulation and usage of big data.

New technologies have always challenged the social, economic, legal, and ideological status quo. Constitutional law is no less impacted by such technologically driven transformations, as the state must formulate a legal response to new technologies and their market applications, as well as the state's own use of new technology. In particular, the development of data collection, data mining, and algorithmic analysis by public and private actors present unique challenges to public law at the doctrinal as well as the theoretical level. This collection, aimed at legal scholars and practitioners, describes the constitutional challenges created by the algorithmic society. It offers an important synthesis of the state of play in law and technology studies, addressing the challenges for fundamental rights and democracy, the role of policy and regulation, and the responsibilities of private actors. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.

With a global view and a vision of our digital future, we should move forward with an understanding of data rights legislation at pace. The earlier we set the value norms around data in this digital long distance race, the more likely we will grasp the opportunities therein and embrace a future of commonly understood values. With a view to the future, the branch of Chinese law that is most likely to lead the world is that related to the digital economy. At the same time, if China wants to be amongst the world's leading digital economies, the basics to be understood and promoted most are higher quality, fairer and more sustainable institutional protection for data rights and subject-relevant interests, and the ability to offer systematic and accurate legal rules within the various digital disciplines.

In Digital Data Collection and Information Privacy Law, Mark Burdon argues for the reformulation of information privacy law to regulate new power consequences of ubiquitous data collection. Examining developing business models, based on collections of sensor data - with a focus on the 'smart home' - Burdon demonstrates the challenges that are arising for information privacy's control-model and its application of principled protections of personal information exchange. By reformulating information privacy's primary role of individual control as an interrupter of modulated power, Burdon provides a foundation for future law reform and calls for stronger information privacy law protections. This book should be read by anyone interested in the role of privacy in a world of ubiquitous and pervasive data collection.

Since the last edition ten years ago the pace of technological and legal change has stepped up even more than before with previous editions. New legislation is in force such as the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and UK Data Protection Act 1998 and from 1 January 2021 "UKGDPR". The UK Information Commissioner has been looking closely at "Ad Tech" and what has become known as "big data" and how data are gathered on-line. Intellectual Property law in the ecommerce area has also changed. There is a very recently agreed new EU copyright directive which is due to be implemented in the 27 EU member states (but not the UK) in 2021.The post-Brexit transition period expired on 31 December 2020 which has implications for the application of ecommerce law in a number of different areas which are all addressed in the new addition.The 2010 EU vertical regulation and guidelines have recently been built on with the EU "geo-blocking" regulation and the related EU Commission's initiatives in relation to ecommerce in the anti-trust area. In 2020 the UK implemented changes in relation to EU law in the revised 2018 Audiovisual Media Services Directive (AVMS) through the Audiovisual Media Services Regulations 2020 which are addressed in the new edition as post-Brexit the UK is retaining this legislation.Other updates include the distance selling legislation in the Consumer Contracts (Information, Cancellation and Additional Charges) Regulations 2013 and the Consumer Rights Act 2015 which came into force since the last edition.This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Intellectual Property and IT online service.

The changes brought about by digital technology and the consequent explosion of information known as Big Data have brought opportunities and challenges in all areas of society, and the law is no exception.This book, Knowledge of the Law in the Big Data Age contains a selection of the papers presented at the conference 'Law via the Internet 2018', held in Florence, Italy, on 11-12 October 2018. This annual conference of the 'Free Access to Law Movement' (http://www.fatlm.org) hosted more than 60 international speakers from universities, government and research bodies as well as EU institutions.Topics covered range from free access to law and Big Data and data analytics in the legal domain, to policy issues concerning access, publishing and the dissemination of legal information, tools to support democratic participation and opportunities for digital democracy. The book is divided into 3 sections: Part I provides an introductory background, covering aspects such as the evolution of legal science and models for representing the law; Part II addresses the present and future of access to law and to various legal information sources; and Part III covers updates in projects, initiatives, and concrete achievements in the field. The book provides an overview of the practical implementation of legal information systems and the tools to manage this special kind of information, as well as some of the critical issues which must be faced, and will be of interest to all those working at the intersection of law and technology.

This book examines central aspects of the new technologies and the legal questions raised by them from both an international and an inter-disciplinary perspective. The technology revolution and the global networking of IT systems pose enormous challenges for the law. Current areas of discussion relate to autonomous systems, big data and issues surrounding legal tech. Ensuring data protection and IT security as well as the creation of a legal framework for the new technology as a whole can only be achieved through international and inter-disciplinary co-operation. The team of authors is made up of experienced, internationally renowned experts as well as young researchers and professionals who give valuable insights from numerous different jurisdictions. This book is written for jurists and those responsible for technology in public authorities and companies as well as practising lawyers and researchers.

This groundbreaking book explores the new legal and economic challenges triggered by big data, and analyses the interactions among and between intellectual property, competition law, free speech, privacy and other fundamental rights vis-à-vis big data analysis and algorithms.   Offering both theoretical and practical insights, contributions illustrate the disruptive nature of the data-driven economy. Chapters discuss how products and services are digitalised and broken into bits, that in turn are reassembled, traded and used across sectors and borders, in contrast to how algorithms are already used to influence our choices, govern our news feeds and revolutionise business models at large. Having shown algorithms and big data to be the two fundamental driving forces of the new information society, expert authors explore which policy options, institutional frameworks and values should be adopted by lawmakers and regulatory authorities in order to ensure a fair balance between private interests such as competition, innovation and the fundamental rights of individuals.   Innovatively combining both public and private law perspectives, this unique book will provide a valuable resource for scholars and students of information and technology law, media law, privacy, regulatory and human rights law. Its attention to the latest developments will also prove essential for policymakers and practitioners working in related areas.

This ground-breaking and timely book explores how big data, artificial intelligence and algorithms are creating new types of agency, and the impact that this is having on our lives and the rule of law. Addressing the issues in a thoughtful, cross-disciplinary manner, the authors examine the ways in which data-driven agency is transforming democratic practices and the meaning of individual choice. Leading scholars in law, philosophy, computer science and politics analyse the latest innovations in data science and machine learning, assessing the actual and potential implications of these technologies. They investigate how this affects our understanding of such concepts as agency, epistemology, justice, transparency and democracy, and advocate a precautionary approach that takes the effects of data-driven agency seriously without taking it for granted. Scholars and students of law, ethics and philosophy, in particular legal, political and democratic theory, will find this book a compelling and invaluable read, as will computer scientists interested in the implications of their own work. It will also prove insightful for academics and activists working on privacy, fairness and anti-discrimination. Contributors include:J.E. Cohen, G. de Vries, S. Delacroix, P. Dumouchel, C. Ess, M. Garnett, E.H. Gerding, R. Gomer, C. Graber, M. Hildebrandt, C. Maple, K. O'Hara, P. Ohm, m.c. schraefel, D. Stevens, N. van Dijk, M. Veale

This state-of-the-art Research Handbook provides an overview of research into, and the scope of current thinking in, the field of big data analytics and the law. It contains a wealth of information to survey the issues surrounding big data analytics in legal settings, as well as legal issues concerning the application of big data techniques in different domains. Featuring contributions from a variety of expert scholars, this is an interdisciplinary dialogue addressing big data analytics, tools and techniques and the societal impact of the field. Chapters analyze both cases anchored in a particular legal system (such as anti-corruption in China) and big data law approaches relevant across multiple practice areas: including machine learning within law, legal information retrieval, natural language processing and e-discovery. It also offers original insights from industry project reports that use big data law techniques in interesting, new ways. Providing a unique and interdisciplinary blend of analysis, this Research Handbook will be a key resource for legal scholars and students researching in areas such as criminal, tax, copyright and administrative law. It will also prove useful for practicing lawyers wanting to get a sense of the legal practice of the future, as well as law-makers thinking about the use of big data law techniques in government policy.

This Research Handbook is an insightful overview of the key rules, concepts and tensions in privacy and data protection law. It highlights the increasing global significance of this area of law, illustrating the many complexities in the field through a blend of theoretical and empirical perspectives. Providing an excellent in-depth analysis of global privacy and data protection law, it explores multiple regional and national jurisdictions, bringing together interdisciplinary international contributions from Europe and beyond. Chapters cover critical topics in the field, including key features of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), border surveillance, big data, artificial intelligence, and biometrics. It also investigates the relationship between privacy and data protection law and other fields of law, such as consumer law and competition law. With its detailed exploration and insights into privacy and data protection, this Research Handbook will prove a useful resource for information and media law students as well as academics researching fields such as data protection and privacy law and surveillance or security studies.