Most data (but not all!) about Indigenous peoples in Canada are published by the federal and provincial government sources. The term “Aboriginal Peoples” includes First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples. This term came into popular usage in Canadian contexts after 1982, when Section 35 of the Canadian Constitution defined the term as such, and is widely used by government and media sources. (CBC; Indigenous Foundations)
Last updated 2022.03.17
- Statistics on Indigenous peoples (Statistics Canada) Statistic Canada's portal to find data, tools, and reports on the latest information on Indigenous peoples in Canada.
- Aboriginal Labour Force Analysis Series (Statistics Canada)
This series of analytical reports provides an overview of the labour market conditions among the Aboriginal off-reserve populations, based on estimates from the Labour Force Survey. These reports examine the Aboriginal labour force characteristics by Aboriginal identity, as well as diverse socio-economic and employment characteristics.
- Aboriginal languages in Canada (Statistics Canada)
Data from the 2016 census.
- Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS) (Statistics Canada)
This is a national survey on the social and economic conditions of First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit aged 6 years and over. The 2012 APS represents the fourth cycle of the survey and focuses on issues of education, employment and health.
- Aboriginal Peoples Survey: data tables (Statistics Canada)
These tables provide data on education, employment, and Aboriginal languages spoken and understood, by age group, sex and Aboriginal identity. Data are available at the national, provincial–territorial and Inuit region levels.
- Aboriginal Peoples Fact Sheets (Statistics Canada)
This product is a series of geographic profiles that include provinces and territories as well as the four Inuit regions of Inuit Nunangat. This series presents a summary of characteristics about the Aboriginal population living in these areas. Demographic data and information on living arrangements of children, education, employment, income, housing, health and language are highlighted. Data for each Aboriginal group, as well as data for the non-Aboriginal population, are provided separately for select variables. Findings are based on the 2011 National Household Survey, the 2012 Canadian Community Health Survey, and the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey.
- Aboriginal Population Profiles (Statistics Canada)
This product presents information from the Census of Population focusing on the Aboriginal identity population of various geographic areas for selected socio-demographic characteristics.
- Aboriginal statistics at a glance (Statistics Canada)
provides data users with a thematic guide to Aboriginal data at Statistics Canada. It includes data for the First Nations (North American Indian), Métis, and Inuit populations. Each theme is illustrated with a chart presenting key indicators, a plain language definition of the indicator and links to related data tables and published articles to further assist users in meeting their data needs. Data sources include the 1996, 2001 and 2006 censuses of population, the 2006 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, the 2005 Canadian Community Health Survey, and the 2007/2008 Adult Correctional Services Survey.
- Data tables on Indigenous peoples (Statistics Canada)
- Census tables on Indigenous peoples (Statistics Canada)
- Demography of Aboriginal People (Article from the Canadian Encyclopedia that describes the differences in Aboriginal numbers depending on the source).
- Education and Employment Experiences of First Nations People Living Off Reserve, Inuit, and Métis: Selected Findings from the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, 2012 (Statistics Canada)
This article describes education pathways, education experiences and current employment of adults aged 18 to 44 who were not attending high school at the time of data collection. It includes analyses of personal, family and school-related experiences during the last year of school, postsecondary education profiles and selected characteristics of workers, the unemployed and those not in the labour force. As well, the article addresses the subject of barriers to further education or training.
- FNIGC Data Online (First Nations Information Governance Centre) Source of information about First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities across Canada. This application provides unprecedented access to FNIGC’s published data in the form of charts, tables and graphs that can be exported for use in presentations, reports and academic papers
- First Nation Profiles (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada)
These profiles represent a collection of information that describes individual First Nation and Inuit communities across Canada. The profiles include general information on a First Nation / Inuit community along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics and various Census statistics. The information presented is consolidated from a number of departmental systems used to collect information for the ongoing administrative and statutory activities of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.
- Guide to Data on Racialized Populations (Scholars Portal)
This guide consists of a curated list of datasets that include ethnicity, race, and indigenous identity variables which can be used to facilitate anti-racism research in Canada. Although not comprehensive, the intention is to provide a starting point for researchers investigating topics about anti-racism and the impact of racism.
- Juristat articles relating to Indigenous peoples in Canada (Statistics Canada)
This publication provides in-depth analysis and detailed statistics on a variety of justice-related topics and issues. It is intended for those with an interest in Canada's justice system as well as those who plan, establish, administer and evaluate justice programs and projects.
- Statistics Canada's education-related data sources with Aboriginal identifiers
This document examines all Statistics Canada data sources that contain Indigenous identifiers and provides details about the target population, frequency of data collection, Indigenous identifiers used, geographic coverage, and methodological or other issues for each data source. There is also a brief overview of the types of data collected by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.
