LibGuides: First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Research: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Indexes and databases bring together a number of different online journals and other resources into one search engine. Use these tools to find citations, abstracts and/or full-text articles, reports and other resources on your topic. Both scholarly and popular articles may be included.

iPortal - Indigenous Studies Research Tool
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
more...less...
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples: North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations, meeting a need for historical researchers. Indigenous Peoples: North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enable intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people. Indigenous Peoples: North America is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
With nearly 3,900 titles and more than 2.3 million total pages dedicated to Indigenous American life and law, this library includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. It also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.
Jurisdiction: United States

American History and Life
This database contains journals covering American and Canadian history. It offers full-text coverage and indexes of over 1600 journals.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Early Canadiana Online
A growing body of primary documents (including books, government documents and reports, and periodicals) relating to Canadian culture and history mostly from the nineteenth century.
Early Encounters in North America
Prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, and photographs documenting the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534-1850. An advanced image search page is available via the "Images" link under "Find."
Wicazo Sa Review
North American Indian Thought and Culture
"The collection is comprised of material that covers the entire history of North America; from 17th century accounts of the first encounters involving Indians and European colonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. ... Firsthand accounts reveal how Indians lived, thought, and fought to protect their interests; how the tribes interacted with each other and the white invaders; ... " [Publisher]
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
This database, which includes academic journals, newspapers, and magazines, is very useful for researching topics related to Canadian current affairs and public policy.
Library and Archives Canada
Web of Science
Subjects: All major academic disciplines (i.e. social sciences, science, humanities, business)
Source Types: scholarly journal articles, books, news
Dates: 1900-Present
FULL-TEXT: click “Find it @ York” to access full articles
PAIS Index
Indexes articles from scholarly journals, books, government publications, directories, and reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations. Web sites are also included. Covers all subjects related to public affairs, including political, economic, environmental and social issues. Coverage is from 1972 - present.
International Political Science Abstracts*
Indexes scholarly articles from journals and yearbooks in political science. Topics include political theory and processes, parties, and public policy. Many foreign language journals are included, with abstracts in English or French. Covers 1989 - present.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes over 2500 journals in the theoretical and applied aspects of sociology. Some international and Canadian content. Articles, as well as unpublished materials, such as conference papers and theses, are indexed. Coverage is from 1986 - present

This list of disciplinary databases, external resources and key journals will help you to find educational resources. Please note that we also have a K-12 Education: Indigenous Perspectives Guide.

Key Journals

Research Guides from Other Institutions

Aboriginal Teacher Training Program (University of Saskatchewan)
Deepening Knowledge Project (OISE, U of Toronto)
“The Deepening Knowledge Project (DKP) seeks to infuse Indigenous peoples' histories, knowledges and pedagogies into all levels of education in Canada.
more...less...
The project is a part of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto, which is located on the territories of Anishinaabe and Onkwehonwe peoples. Led by a group of Indigenous and non-Indigenous faculty, students and staff, DKP provides information about the history and perspectives of First Nations, Métis and Inuit and Native American cultures; information related to the issues of pressing concern to Indigenous peoples and their communities today; as well as curricula for teachers to incorporate this into teaching practice.”
First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Contexts in Education
Four Directions Teaching
Lesson plans by grade, games, learning activities.
more...less...
Ojibwe, Mohawk, Blackfoot, Cree, Mi’kmaq.
Indigenous educational resources for faculty and students
This guide is designed to assist faculty at Concordia University in decolonizing and indigenizing the curriculum, with recommended scholarly and community-based resources. Resources include journal articles, books, reports, films, online portals, and more, grouped by theme and subject area. See links to Haudenosaunee Confederacy, Métis Nation, and Inuit Nunangat.
Indigenous Education K-12 (UBC)
Infusing Indigenous Perspectives in K-12 Teaching (University of Toronto)

This list of disciplinary databases, external resources and key journals will help you to find resources related to justice.

Law Resources

For a more complete list of resources see the Indigenous Law Research Guide.

American Indian Law
more...less...
From Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII). This guide includes a host of court opinions, laws and internet sites.
Center for Indigenous Law, Governance & Citizenship
This center is out of Syracuse University, It is a research and policy group focused on indigenous nations, their development, and their interactions between themselves and the US and Canadian governments.
Indigenous Law / Indigenous Legal Traditions (University of Victoria)
Indigenous Law Centre of Canada
The Indigenous law journal at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law.
Indigenous Law Portal
Tribal Law Journal

Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women

York University has a featured collection of books on the topic of Missing Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and 2 Spirit Peoples.

Guide to Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls Inquiry (Concordia University)
Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
Website of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. The National Inquiry is a legal process independent from federal, provincial and territorial governments, crown corporations and Indigenous forms of government.
Includes links and background information to the MMIWG report presented in June 2019: Reclaiming Power and Place: The Final Report of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women.

Indigenous Science

You can also check out this featured collection of Indigenous Science Books at York University Libraries.

Health and Wellbeing

Here are some health specific databases and journals for you to explore. Here I have identified some national and local sources however, provincial Indigenous-led non-governmental organizations are also a great source of information.

American Indian & Alaska Native Mental Health Research
Indigenous Health (uManitoba)
Indigenous Health Science (UBC)
International journal of indigenous health.
Journal of Aboriginal Health
Journal of Indigenous HIV Research
The JIHR is an annual on-line journal published by CAAN as a service to its members and anyone with an interest in Indigenous community-based research (CBR). Previously known as: CJACBR – Canadian Journal of Aboriginal Community-Based HIV/AIDS Research
Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing
Metis Health (University of Manitoba)
National Aboriginal Health Organization
National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH)
The National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH) is a national Indigenous organization established in 2005 by the Government of Canada and funded through the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) to support First Nations, Inuit, and Métis public health renewal and health equity through knowledge translation and exchange.
Native Health Database
These are two databases with health information for, by, and about Native Americans of the United States, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. For articles published before 1966, search the Native Health History Database; for articles after 1966, search the Native Health Research Database.
Pimatisiwin : a journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous community health
Traditional Medicine (University of Saskatchewan)
Turtle Island Journal of Indigenous Health

Sports are connected to both culture and well-being. I have identified some national and local resources but note that there are provincial organizations which are also excellent sources of information.

Indigenous Communities have a long history of self governance, resistance and resurgence. These resources are a good place to start learning more.

Indigenous Organizations are also a great source of information.

Indigenous Economic Development guide (University of Calgary)