LibGuides: Psychology Research Guide : News Sources

News Sources

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date or historical information on virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform. The following is a selection of databases for finding newspapers and other news sources such as online news, news broadcasts and their transcripts.

See the Finding Newspaper guide for a more detailed list of sources.

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage from national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. May also be used as a company research tool with extensive coverage of public and private companies worldwide including corporate overviews, key executives, financial data, press releases, current news and a list of competitors. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live Webinars. Creating Permalinks in Factiva
Nexis Uni
Countains thousands of news, business, and legal information sources. Included are current international newspapers, as well as news magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and newsletters. Business information includes business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Also offers access to case law, statutes and regulations, as well as secondary sources such as law reviews and legal news.

Topic: Law (General)
Jurisdiction: Australia / Canada - Federal / Canada - Provinces / Commonwealth / England / European Union / International / Multijurisdictional / United Kingdom / United States
Canadian Major Dailies
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant backfiles from more than 35 of Canada’s top national and regional newspapers in full-text format, including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star. Many titles are exclusively available from ProQuest. With same day access to many publications, Canadian Major Dailies provides users with thorough and timely coverage of national and regional events. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform. More information about Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest).
For more information about News Sources see this YUL LibGuide

Creating permalinks to articles in Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest).
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database is a comprehensive Canadian periodical collection that features a diversified mix of publications including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio/television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more. Delivering a broad range of coverage from a Canadian perspective it spans topics like agriculture, business/economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.

Creating permalinks to articles in CBCA (ProQuest).

News Broadcasts

Other sources for news include television and radio news broadcasts. The following are some free and open access databases as well as library subscription databases to find these broadcasts and their transcripts. See the Finding Newspapers: News Broadcasts for more sources.

The following databases are useful for finding historical newspaper articles.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
An electronic newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail, from 1844. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.