LibGuides: Social Work: Scholarly Publishing

Resources

This section will list library resources and tools available to support the publication and dissemination of your work, particularly publication of journal articles.

Writing and Publishing Guides

Practical Tips for Publishing Scholarly Articles by Rich Furman; Julie Kinn
Call Number: PN 146 F87 2012 SCOTT

Publication Date: 2012

Looking to publish your research but dont know exactly how? Dealing with procrastination or stress related to academic publishing? If you are feeling apprehensive about your writing or are becoming interested in publishing scholarly work, Practical Tips for Publishing Scholarly Articles is for you. Rich Furman and Julie T. Kinn have updated this fantastic resource with even more exercises and advice to help you through the writing and publishing process. Furman and Kinn guide readers through each step of publication from idea generation through structuring an article and journal selection to submission, revision, and collaboration. Features: * New Exercises to improve writing and the process of writing * New Advice on overcoming procrastination * New Quotes from experienced authors describing their methods, frustrations, challenges, and triumphs
Professional Writing for the Human Services by Linda Beebe (Editor); Ann Hartman (Introduction by)
Call Number: HV 41 P8975 1993 SCOTT

Publication Date: 1993

The book was written especially for social workers, administrators, clinicians, students, researchers, & other human service professionals who write case records, reports, testimony statements, & other written communications, as well as journal articles & books. The book is divided into three parts: Preparation for Writing, Preparation for Publication, & the NASW Quick Guide to Mechanics. Chapters cover writing techniques, literature searches, quantitative & qualitative research reports, presentation of graphics, the peer review process, journal submissions, book proposals, production techniques, copyright concerns, & more. Authors who are interested in being published will learn how to package their material. The mechanics section gives guidelines on punctuation, tables & figures, statistics, unbiased language, & more. The section also contains information on author-date citation styles. Appendixes include sample contracts, a listing of major journal publishers, a reference library for authors, & NASW Press policies & details for submission to NASW journals & the book program. Invaluable to all professionals from all human services fields who wish to be published.
How to Write Well by June Keeling; Hazel M. Chapman; Julie Williams
Call Number: eBook / LB 2369 K42 2013 SCOTT

Publication Date: 2013

Good writing skills are essential for study, but many students find that they struggle to write well. Written especially for health and social care students, this book demystifies academic writing, giving you a better understanding of what good writing looks like, and how to achieve it.
How to Publish Your PhD by Sarah Caro
Call Number: Z 286 S37 C37 2009 SCOTT

Publication Date: 2009

How to Publish Your PhD is the first book to provide students with a comprehensive and authoritative guide to publishing their research. Drawing on nearly twenty years in the book business Sarah Caro explains in a clear and accessible way the key issues facing the would-be author. Within the context of today's fast changing world where new technologies and increasing globalization continue to impact on academia and the world of academic publishing, key issues are discussed ranging from whether publishing your PhD is always the best way to enhance your career prospects to whether you should focus on journals or books. A wealth of practical information and advice is included on:Choosing a publisherRevising your thesis Putting together a proposal Surviving the review process Negotiating a contract Working with your publishers marketing department The book is designed to be an easy to use, one stop guide with examples, chapter summaries, and further reading. It will be an invaluable resource for students across the broadest range of the humanities and social sciences and for all those teaching and advising them, in Europe and the US.

Selecting Journals

Tip #1: Select a journal before writing to tailor writing to a specific audience, framing your paper for a particular audience and field. Consider topic, theoretical orientation and audience.

Tip #2: Consider some of the journals you are already citing in your research/literature review. Search a periodical index for articles related to your topic to identify potential journals.

Tip #3: Where are your social work faculty members publishing in?

The following resources can also be consulted to help you select a journal to publish your work

An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals Location: HV 85 A93 2009 Scott
Describes over 200 journals, arranged by subject, and includes, as always, the journal descriptions and detailed information for each title, submission information, formatting of manuscript, style used, review process information, acceptance rate etc..

Ulrich's International Periodical Directory : search detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (including peer-review status, abstracting/indexing coverage,

Journal Citation Reports: use to find the most frequently cited journals, highest impact journals and the largest journals in a field. See the tutorial for an explanation of how to use Journal Citation Reports. See the list of social work and related journals and their impact factors.

Scholarly Communication

Open access journals offer free access to journal articles on the Internet. Open access is particularly important to students and researchers from poorer countries who can't access subscription-based journals through a library or through their institutions.Some research funding agencies (such as CIHR, SSHRC, NREC) require that the dissemination of publicly funded research be made freely accessible to the public in a certain time frame. The following are open access sources to help identify where and how to make your work openly accessible.

Open Access Publishing Kit: more information about making your research open access
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): search here to find open access journals to help
YorkSpace Institutional Repository: you can negotiate with publishers to archive a pre-print or post-print version of your paper in York's digital repository

Zotero

Zotero is a research tool to manage your online references, but can also be used to organize your thoughts, writing structure and to organize the literature review.

How?

Sorting citations by folders or “collections”: you can name collections by themes
Use the Notes feature to annotate each article or source
Use tags to assign keywords to sources. These are searchable.
Use the Zotero plugin for Word or LibreOffice to write your paper and automatically generate bibliographies and cite your work
Create relationships between items (e.g. methodology, theoretical framework) or sources in different collections (connects multidisciplinary research)

Other uses include:

Use as a collaborative tool by setting up groups

Watch this video on one way to use Zotero for a research paper!

Other Resources

Publish not perish: The Art and Craft of Publishing in a Scholarly Journal a tutorial created by the University of Colorado library, on publishing scholarly journal articles
Writing Guides: a list of writing resources
Taylor & Francis Author Service: provides tips for writing and publishing articles (submission and the peer-review process), writing abstracts etc.
Wiley Author Sevices: Writing resources, general submission guidelines, and information on the book and journal publication process