Skip to Main Content
Canada: Online Newspapers & Newspaper Indexes
- Canadian Major Dailies
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include:
- Calgary Herald (1988-)
- Edmonton Journal (1989-)
- Globe & Mail (1977-)
- Halifax Daily News (1990-)
- Montreal Gazette (1985-)
- National Post (1998-)
- Ottawa Citizen (1985-)
- Toronto Star (1985-)
- Vancouver Sun (1987-)
Select the Publications tab for a full listing. There may be a 2 - 7 day delay for the most recent issues.
- Canadian Business & Current Events (CBCA)
A useful database that covers a wide range of Canadian periodicals, academic titles, special interest publications, and general magazines. Full-text coverage is from 1988 - present. Indexed coverage is from 1972 - present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Limited Canadian content; coverage varies - a complete list is available.
- Eureka.cc
A searchable full-text database of Canadian news sources in English and French. Major sources include The Toronto Star, CBC, La Presse and Le Devoir. Also allows searching of lead (i.e. first two paragraphs), title and byline. Date coverage varies depending on the publication.
- Factiva (user guide)
Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and the following major Canadian newspapers:
- Globe & Mail (Nov 1977-)
- Financial Post (1990-) and the National Post (1998-)
- Toronto Star (1986-)
- Winnipeg Free Press (Aug 6 1991-)
- La Presse Canadienne (1999-)
- The Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (printing instructions)
Covering 1844-2020, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Globe & Mail. Full text of the Globe & Mail Nov. 1936- also available in Scott and Frost Microtext (1974- available in Bronfman Microtext). Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Readings Room, Frost Current Periodicals Room and Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.
- Nexis Uni
Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and many Canadian newspapers, newswires and transcript services including:
- Globe & Mail
- Calgary Sun
- Financial Post and National Post
- Ottawa Sun
- Toronto Star
- Toronto Sun
- Paper of Record
An historical archive of full-page newspaper images that includes fifty English-language 18th and 19th century newspapers, plus a selection of French-language sources.
- Press Reader
Full issues of thousands of international newspapers and magazines.
- Toronto Star: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (printing instructions)
Covering 1894-2021, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star. Full text of the Toronto Star Dec. 1894- also available in Scott Microtext (1977- available in Frost Microtext). Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room and Frost Current Periodicals Room.
United States and International Newspapers
- African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century
This database indexes African American newspapers that provide first hand accounts of the major events of the day including the Mexican War, Congressional Abstracts, Presidential and Congressional addresses. Also includes early biographies, vital statistics and creative writing all of which represents the African American experience. Time period covered is the 19th century.
- African American Newspapers: 1827-1998
"Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states-including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles." [publisher]
- Black Studies Center: Newspapers
Full-text access to influential American black newspapers. Can be searched or browsed by issue. Includes:
- Atlanta Daily World - Weekly edition (1931-2003)
- Chicago Defender - Saturday edition (1910 to 1975); Daily edition (1956 to 1975)
- Daily Defender (1956-1975)
- Los Angeles Sentinel - Weekly edition (1934-2005)
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A complete list is available.
- Factiva ( user guide)
Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and over 30 major American newspapers and news services from the United States including: To check coverage for a particular publication, search the publications database.
- New York Times
- Washington Post
- Wall Street Journal
- Chicago Tribune
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Full text of the New York Times 1851-present is also available in Scott Microtext. Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room.
- Nexis Uni
Indexing and full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources from around the world.
- Paper of Record
An historical archive of full-page newspaper images that includes newspapers from the 19th - 21st century
- PressReader
Full issues of thousands of international newspapers and magazines.
- Schomburg Center Clipping File
- The Schomburg Center Clipping Files is a rich microfiche collection developed by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. This collection, spanning over 13,000 microfiche, consists mainly of periodical and newspaper clippings, but also includes public notices, pamphlets, programmes, broadsides, leaflets, playbills, newsletters and other short publications relating to diverse aspects of black history and culture from 1924-1988. The collection covers largely African-American history and culture, but is also international in scope (including Canada, the Caribbean and Africa).
- Wall Street Journal. Eastern ed.
The Wall Street Journal (Jan 2 1984-) from Proquest provides indexing and full-text access. Full text of the Wall Street Journal July 8 1889- also available in Bronfman Microtext. Current issues available in Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.
