LibGuides: Disaster & Emergency Management: Associations and Organizations

Canada - Associations and Organizations

Ontario Association of Emergency Managers
This association aims to support, promote and enhance the profession of emergency management in Ontario. In addition to providing information about the activities and mandate of this organization, the OAEM web site, offers links to key emergency management organizations and professional development sites in Ontario and in Canada generally. Also provides some links to U.S. and international organizations of relevance.
Canadian Red Cross
Includes a wealth of information regarding the services of the Canadian Red Cross including its disaster services.

National Emergency Management Association
NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials in the United States. One of the key goals of the association is to serve as an emergency management information and assistance resource and the site offers access to NEMA's Document Library containing full-text of publications pertaining to NEMA and its various committees.
Center for State Homeland Security
This center aims to support states and local communities in carrying out their homeland security roles. Provides access to key homeland security legislation as well as to the full-text of articles and reports on a wide range of topics pertaining to homeland security.
American Red Cross (Disaster Services)
Aims to meet the needs of those threatened or affected by disaster. This includes a wealth of practical information including web pages with much guidance relating to both man-made and natural disasters. The publications section of the web site includes some freely available PDF documents.

International Association of Emergency Managers
This is an association of emergency management experts. The web site provides information about the activities and membership of the association.
Disaster Recovery Institute International
DRII comprises a group of professionals working in the disaster recovery industry. In addition to providing certification for individuals in the field of business continuity, this organization aims to promote a common knowledge base for those involved in business continuity planning/disaster work.
more...less...
Guide compiled by Sophie Bury, Business Librarian and Liaison Librarian, Atkinson School of Administrative Studies.
The author of this guide would like to acknowledge the contribution of Amanda Wakaruk, Government Documents Librarian, Scott Library, in compiling content highlighted in the government sources section of this web guide.

Last modified by: Part time Librarians Scott Reference on Tue Nov 16 15:50:54 EST 2010

Last modified:
Nov 16, 2010