Disaster & Emergency Management: Research Centres

This York University research centre evaluates and enhances disaster and emergency planning and rapid emergency response strategies by governmental, non-governmental and private sector organizations in Ontario, across Canada and around the world. ADERSIM conducts disaster research and training and provides supports to its governmental, non-governmental, and private sector partners through its state-of-the-art Emergency Operations Centre (EOC).

Research institute established by Canada's property and casualty insurers; engages in disaster prevention research. Based at Western University, the organization aims to reduce the loss of life and property damage caused by severe weather and earthquakes. Includes overview of current studies, publications, and Canadian organizations involved in disaster prevention activities.

The Disaster Research Center, based at the University of Delaware, conducts field and survey research on group, organizational and community preparation for, response to, and recovery from natural and technological disasters and other community-wide crises. Research conducted pertains to a wide range of disaster types. The site features information about current projects as well as a resource centre including monographs, articles, preliminary papers, dissertations, and reports, some of which are

A research institute which offers graduate programs in crisis, emergency and risk management. The web site provides citations (in some cases with links to full-text) of recent publications of the faculty and staff of the research institute. The links section of this site is also worth consulting as it provides references to a number of useful guides to crisis, disasters and risk management web sites.

This site serves as a national and international clearinghouse concerning the social science and policy aspects of disaster. This includes an extensive collection of material relating to the area of emergency management. Provides access to the full-text of articles, working papers, and conference papers published by the center. The site also provides access to the Hazlit database and search engine, an online catalogue of items in the center's library.

Issues watches, warnings, forecasts and analyses of hazardous tropical weather, and by increasing understanding of these hazards. This center generates and coordinates tropical cyclone analysis and forecast products for twenty-four countries in the Americas, Caribbean, and for the waters of the North Atlantic Ocean, Caribbean Sea, Gulf of Mexico, and the eastern North Pacific Ocean. Provides a wealth of resources including storm information, hurricane awareness resources (including hurricane his

This research center engages in applied studies targeted at reducing the impact of natural disasters on society. This includes research in the area of disaster studies and management. The web site provides access to the full-text of many working papers, technical papers, and articles and other publications written by researchers at the centre.