Human Rights & Equity Studies: Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Offers a comprehensive guide to documents and organizations which are concerned with the issues of human rights. It includes up-to-date definitions and short essays about each of the 300 entries. Discusses the basic ideas of rights and liberties, and the role of conventions, declarations, courts, tribunals and legal systems upholding them. It provides concise outlines of the general positions on human rights for all leading developed countries.

Includes chronology, an introduction, appendixes, photographs, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries covering many of the key treaties, agreements, and definitions of human rights concepts; important humanitarian organizations, whether private, governmental, national, or international; and significant persons and events.

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language ever produced. Includes definitions, quotations, and full etymologies. All are searchable.

Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

A comprehensive and credible general knowledge encyclopedia. In addition to 72,000 articles on topics in every discipline, the Encyclopedia Britannica Online also provides links to 130,000 websites that have been selected and reviewed by Britannica's editorial board of experts.

The online version of a classic Canadian reference work. Useful for finding basic information on people, themes and events.

Available both online and in print this resource contains comprehensive articles relating to the social sciences (anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, sociology, history, geography, law, education, philosophy, linguistics etc.). Includes biographies of important social science theorists. Each entry concludes with a bibliography on each topic.