LibGuides: Mathematics: Journal articles

Journal Articles

MathSciNet

The best source for mathematics research is MathSciNet, the online version of Mathematical Reviews, which indexes and reviews the mathematical literature since 1940. Over 80,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.

There are two places to search MathSciNet. The content is the same but the interfaces are different.

MathSciNet at the American Mathematical Society (the original; see the tutorials for help)
MathSciNet at EbscoHost (more powerful interface, and works with Zotero and Mendeley)

Other sources

Google Scholar
An excellent tool for finding not only articles but also conference presentations and other "grey literature."
arXiv.org > math
A "highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles." Includes mathematics articles,
Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive international database for scientific, medical, and technical information. It contains approximately 18,000 journal titles from 5,000 publishers, and abstracts going back to 1960. More information
Project Euclid
Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Project Euclid is designed to address the unique needs of low-cost independent and society journals.
Locus (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
Searchable archive of SIAM journals (up to 1996). Recent issues are available elsewhere.
Web of Science
Indexes 12,000+ research journals across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). See also the Web of Science training and support videos.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is one of the databases for locating high-quality STEM journals, book series, books and reference works, for example the Springer Lecture Notes in Mathematics.
Current Index to Statistics
Indexes publications in statistics, probability and related fields. References are drawn from 160 core journals that are fully indexed; selected articles about statistics from about 1200 non-core journals; and about 11,000 statistics books. Suitable for senior undergraduate and graduate levels. Coverage is from 1975.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
This database describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly. Coverage 1975 to the present.
ERIC
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week.
Education Index
Indexes literature in the field of education including such topics as athletics, physical education, classroom computers, comparative education, government funding, special education, teacher evaluation and multicultural/ethnic education. Coverage is from 1983 - present.
Jahrbuch Database
Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics.
Help for Jahrbuch D/b
JSTOR
Offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections. It includes journals from the arts, humanities, business, and social sciences as well as the natural and life sciences. This is a resource that offers a comprehensive archive of scholarly journal literature, including mathematics as well as Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society back to 1665.
Madipedia [German]
Madipedia is the central reference work for mathematics didactics in the German-speaking area. There are 741 people and 934 mathematics education dissertations listed.

French Journal Articles

Use these indexes and databases to find journal articles in French. Both scholarly and popular articles may be included.

Erudit
Revues québécoises - rassemble un large éventail de disciplines des sciences humaines et sociales.
Pascal & Francis
La base de données FRANCIS est une base de données bibliographique contenant plus d'un million de notices, couvrant les sciences humaines et sociales à l'échelle internationale. Les sujets ou bases de données qui la compose comprennent notamment : l'archéologie, la géographie, la linguistique, la philosophie, la religion et la sociologie. Les citations comprennent des articles de périodiques, des comptes rendus de congrès, des ouvrages, des rapports et des thèses de doctorat.
CAIRN
Revues de sciences humaines et sociales en texte intégral.
Persée
Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales de France.

Mathematics: Journal articles

Journal Articles

MathSciNet

Other sources

French Journal Articles

New at the Mathematical Intelligencer