LibGuides: Religion: Introductory Texts

Introductory texts

These books provide an essential overview of the major themes, developments, figures, and sacred texts belonging to a variety of religions and denominational traditions. Many of these titles are drawn from Oxford's consistently excellent "Very Short Introduction" series as well as the Oxford handbook series. Where possible links to electronic copies of this titles have been included. Titles are organized into four broad groups: Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Other World Religions. The sidebar includes some texts that cover global religion more generally.

Christianity

Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years by Diarmaid MacCulloch
Call Number: SCOTT BR 145.3 M33 2010

ISBN: 0670021261

Winner of numerous prestigious awards, this book provides a sweeping and comprehensive overview of the development and evolution of Christianity. As the title suggests, special attention is also paid to the influence of ancient philosophy and Judaism on its early thinkers and theologians.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by Susan Ashbrook Harvey; David G. Hunter
ISBN: 0199596522

Publication Date: 2010-12-09

The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies responds to and celebrates the explosion of research in this inter-disciplinary field over recent decades. As a one-volume reference work, it provides an introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD) and examines the vast geographical area impacted by the early church, in Western and Eastern late antiquity.
Christianity by Linda Woodhead
ISBN: 0192803220

Publication Date: 2005-09-01

Covers the early development of Christian communities in the ancient world, the evolution of Christian theology, church governance and schism, mysticism, Christianity in and beyond the West (including the recent explosion of charismatic Christianity in Latin America, Africa, and the Far East), and women in Christianity.

Islam

Islam by Malise Ruthven
ISBN: 0192853341

Publication Date: 1998-01-08

This book offers essential insight into the structure and beliefs of Islam by broaching fundamental questions about major divisions between movements such as the Shiis, the Sunnis, and the Wahhabis; the role Sharia plays in Islamic life; whether or not women can find fulfillment and equality within an Islamic framework; and how Muslims engage with modernity.
Islam Today by Akbar S. Ahmed
ISBN: 1860642578

Publication Date: 1999-03-15

This book provides a brief historical overview of the development of Islam while devoting most of its attention to the challenges facing Islam today. A lively and informative text that considers Islamic law, minorities, internal divisions, and political conflict.
Islamic History by Adam J. Silverstein
Call Number: SCOTT BP 50 S55 2010

ISBN: 0199545723

Publication Date: 2010-02-01

This book examines the growth of Islam from its roots in Arabia into a global religion today. In doing so it considers the the Arabs, Persians, and Turks who shaped Islamic history, and sheds light on the way Islam's three representative institutions--the mosque, jihad, and the caliphate--shaped Islam over time.

Judaism

Jewish Thought by Oliver Leaman
ISBN: 041537426X

Publication Date: 2006-08-08

This book provides a survey of major controversies in Judaism today ranging from relations to other religision to sex, gender and modernity. Central themes such as authority and obedience, the relations between Jewish and Greek thought, and the position and status of the State of Israel are also considered.
Jewish Studies by Martin Goodman (Editor); Jeremy Cohen (Editor); David Sorkin (Editor)
ISBN: 0199280320

Publication Date: 2005-02-24

The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies reflects the current state of scholarship in the field as analyzed by an international team of experts in the different and varied areas represented within contemporary Jewish Studies. Unlike recent attempts to encapsulate the current state of Jewish Studies, the Oxford Handbook is more than a mere compendium of agreed facts; rather, it is an exhaustive survey of current interests and directions in the field.
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies by Peter Hayes (Editor); John K. Roth (Editor)
ISBN: 0199211868

Publication Date: 2011-01-21

This handbook describes the context of the Holocaust; the principal persons and groups involved in the Holocaust; the particular places, sites, and physical circumstances where the Holocaust occurred; how the Holocaust can be grasped through historical analysis, interpretation of texts, artistic creation and criticism, and religious reflection; and how the Holocaust influenced subsequent developments in politics, religion, and culture.

Other World Religions

Religions of South Asia by Sushil Mittal (Editor); Gene Thursby (Editor)
ISBN: 0415223911

Publication Date: 2006-04-04

This book includes separate chapters on the nine leading belief systems in South Asia including the indigenous religions such as the Hindu, Jain, Buddhist and Sikh traditions, to incoming influences such as Christianity, Judaism and Islam.
Buddhism by Damien Keown
ISBN: 0192853864

Publication Date: 2000-06-15

This Very Short Introduction introduces the reader to the teachings of the Buddha and to the integration of Buddhism into daily life. What are the distinctive features of Buddhism? Who was the Buddha, and what are his teachings? How has Buddhist thought developed over the centuries, and how can contemporary dilemmas be faced from a Buddhist perspective? Words such as 'karma' and 'nirvana' have entered our vocabulary, but what do they mean?
Hinduism by Kim Knott
ISBN: 0192853872

Publication Date: 2000-06-15

This book provides clear insight into the beliefs and authority of Hindus and Hinduism, and considers the ways in which it has been affected by colonialism and modernity. It offers succinct explanations of Hinduism's central preoccupations, including the role of contemporary gurus and teachers in the quest for spiritual fulfillment.
Sikhism by Eleanor Nesbitt
ISBN: 0192806017

Publication Date: 2005-12-08

This book provides a short introduction to Sikhism's beliefs, practices, rituals, and festivals. Topics covered include the role played by the Gurus, Sikh appearance, martyrdom and militarization, and the Sikh diaspora. It also examines the recent proliferation of Sikh lifestyles in today's news and entertainment media.
The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements by James R. Lewis
ISBN: 0195369645

Publication Date: 2008-07-22

The core chapters of this book deal with issues such as conversion, the brainwashing debate, millennialism, and modernization. Another section considers neopaganism, Satanism, and UFO religions. The final section considers these movements in their global perspective.

Religion Worldwide

The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions
ISBN: 0199767645

Comprising 60 essays, this volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites. It is organized into six sections corresponding to the major living religious traditions: the Indic cultural region, the Buddhist/Confucian, the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim regions, and the African cultural region.
Global Religions: An Introduction
ISBN: 0195158741

This book provides a transnational introduction to major world religions and includes chapters on Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, and African religions.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Science
ISBN: 0199543658

This handbook includes sections devoted to the major scientific disciplines and the major world religions. At its heart are controversial essays that take opposing positions on topics such as creationism and the supernatural.
The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion
ISBN: 0199588961

Contributors to this book consider the role and impact of religion and spirituality on the politics, culture, education and health in the modern world. An overview of current scholarship in the field is provided in each themed chapter as the authors grapple with the developing character of religion, irreligion and atheism and their impact on cultural diversity and social cohesion.
Religion and Diversity in Canada
ISBN: 9004170154

Taking religion as its primary focus of analysis, this book considers the power relations that diversity implies in Canada, the cultural context that limits the understanding and practical acceptance of religious diversity, and how Canada compares in these matters to other countries.