Religion: Christianity

The Bible is the only sacred text for most Christians. It consists of the Old Testament (Jewish scriptures) and the New Testament. Biblegateway.com provides access to twenty-five English translations of the Bible that can be searched by keyword, browsed by chapter and verse, or accessed through a topical index. Dozens of translations are also available on the site.

This resource provides full access to a wide variety of ancient Near Eastern texts outside the Biblical canon. All texts are in English and include an introduction. Use this resource to access religious texts, texts concerned with royalty and government, and inscriptions, from Egyptian, Sumerian, Akkadian, Hittite and other ancient civilizations.

This book offers over 2,000 brief entries covering the places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. It also includes a conversion table of measures, weights, and values; a chronology of important dates in Biblical history; and historical maps.

When complete, this multi-volume work will constitute the most comprehensive encyclopedia to the bible ever produced. Opening a window on the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity, this encyclopedia will also document the history of the Bible’s reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in literature, art, music, and film; in Islam, as well as in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike. Volume 1-2 currently available.

This book contains 700 entries covering the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Here the reader will also find treatments of religious concepts from immortality, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the Holy Spirit. The contributors also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, and anti-Semitism. Includes maps.

This book includes forty-five essays by leading figures on all aspects of biblical scholarship from a variety of philosophical, theological, linguistic, historical, and literary perspectives.

In more than 300 entries, this book covers major figures and place in the Bible. Contributors from a range of theological traditions and academic disciplines ensure each entry is informed by the latest archaeological findings, as well as current sociological, literary critical, and linguistic research.

This book contains detailed entries on every person and character (named and unnamed) present in the New Testament.

Search or browse the canon of Mormon scriptures including the Bible, the Book of Mormon, Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price.

This book offers a comprehensive analysis of the Book of Mormon's characters, events, and ideas, as its explores its story and messages.

Published in the 1960s and 1970s, this set is currently being updated by Cambridge. Until the New Cambridge History of the Bible appears, however, this set provides access to a number of essays that, though dated, still have some use.

This nine-volume set provides access to hundreds of authoritative essays on all aspects of Christianity throughout its two-thousand year history. Extremely useful for acquiring the basic context needed to write papers at almost any level.

A history of Christian literature written in Greek, Latin, and Syriac between 200 and 400 CE.