Religion: Islam

The Qu'ran is the chief sacred text within Islam. It is divided into 114 chapters or Surahas.

The publishers note that this encyclopedia sets out to present a wide diversity of views on the Qu'ran "in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of responses that the text has provoked throughout its history," while "providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception". Many entries include a short bibliography and the volume concludes with a lengthy annotated bibliography of sources.

This six-volume encyclopedia offers nearly 1,000 comprensive entries on qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis. It also includes extended essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. The sixth volume is an index.

This massive 26-volume encyclopedia of quranic studies offers comprehensive coverage of a huge range of subjects including historical aspects of the Qu'ran, the Qu'ran and science, Islamic philosophy and the Qu'ran, family life and morality, economics, the Bible and the Qu'ran, education, and jurisprudence.

The Hadith collects together Muhammad's acts and sayings. It is often used to interpret the Qu'ran and in the application of Islamic law.

Most of the major traditions of the canonical collections (also known as the Six Books) are presented in this resource. These traditions were selected on the basis of an identification of their originators. This resource is organized alphabetically according to the originators (Muhammad's companions who transmitted one or more hadiths from him).

Published in 2010, the New Cambridge History of Islam includes hundreds of authoritative essays on all aspects of Islamic history from its late antique origins to the present.