LibGuides: Canadian Studies: Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Articles - Canada

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date information on virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.

Factiva
This index provides access to over 1,000 newspapers including the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. It indexes more than 6,500 magazines, including industry-specific journals and newsletters, 270+ newswires, including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press, 160+ Media Programs, with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and more, 9,000 Web sites in more than 20 languages and more than 20,000 Company Reports.
Eureka
A searchable full-text database of Canadian and international news sources in English and French. Major sources include The Toronto Star, CBC, La Presse and Le Devoir. Also allows searching of lead (i.e. first two paragraphs), title and byline. Date coverage varies depending on the publication. Also known as "Newscan". Many publications available through this tool are in PDF format.
Canadian Newsstand
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include Calgary Herald (1988-), Edmonton Journal (1989-), Halifax Daily News (1990-), Montreal Gazette (1985-), National Post (1998-), Ottawa Citizen (1985-), Toronto Star (1985-), Vancouver Sun (1987-)
CBCA Complete
A major index to Canadian content, including over 50 Canadian newspapers, magazines, newswires and broadcaster transcripts. Also includes some American and British publications that cover current events (e.g. The Economist, U.S. News & World Report).
Toronto Star (Pages of the Past)
Covering 1892-2006, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star.
Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844.
An electronic newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail, covering the years 1844-1999. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.
Paper of Record
Historical archive of full-page newspaper images that you can search for unique coverage of past events. The archive is created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original format of the paper. This is a strong source for historical research across local Canadian newspapers. Click on Canada at the top of the page to see a list of local newspapers by province.

How to find newspaper articles

News Literacy

Tips for Identifying Fake News Stories