LibGuides: History, United States: Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date information on virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.

Newsbank African American Newspapers
This database indexes African American newspapers that provide first hand accounts of the major events of the day including the Mexican War, Congressional Abstracts, Presidential and Congressional addresses. Also includes early biographies, vital statistics and creative writing all of which represents the African American experience.
more...less...
Time period covered is the 19th century. Library subscribes only to the following:

* Part I: Freedom's Journal, New York, 1827-Mar. 1829; Colored American, New York, 1837-Mar. 1840; The North Star, Rochester, NY, 1847-July 1849; National Era, Washington, DC, 1847-Dec. 1848.

* Part II: Colored American, 1840-41; The North Star, July 1849-1851; Frederick Douglass Paper (continuation of The North Star), 1851-May 1852; National Era, 1847-Dec. 1850; Provincial Freeman, Toronto, ON, 1854-Dec. 18, 1855.

* Part III: Frederick Douglass Paper, May 1852-Dec. 1852; National Era, Dec. 1850-Dec. 1853; Provincial Freeman, Dec. 1855-57; The Christian Recorder, Toronto, ON, 1861-April 1862.
The Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Produced by Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection and funded by the Library and the Institute of Museum and Library Services, this first phase of the project covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902.
The Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond the Windy City, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925.
It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military.
more...less...
This newspaper also supported the aviation career of Bessie Coleman, the first African-American female pilot, and promoted the writing of Langston Hughes and Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks. {ProQuest)
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
...more than 130 Ethnic American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries. Created in partnership with the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection chronicles nearly two centuries of many of the most influential Ethnic groups in United States History. [publisher]
Facts on File: World News Digest, 1940-
"..'unique archival record of domestic and international news, unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy, covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. ... Its more than 1 million internal hyperlinks allow researchers to follow a story ahead in time and back in time, and lead to just the background information they need to understand its significance. [Publisher]
Los Angeles Sentinel
From its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans to not "spend your money where you can't work," the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change, and empowered the black community. By accessing more than 70 years of cover-to-cover reporting, today's readers view the Depression through the eyes of African-Americans in the 1930s. They can follow the grass-roots struggle against the racially restrictive housing covenants of the 1940s.
more...less...
Researchers can follow Roy Wilkins' column, "The Watchtower," and see how he attacked efforts to label civil rights activists as "communists" during the Cold War. Today, this independent publication continues to cover community and world issues from the unique cultural perspective of the Los Angeles African-American community.
New York Times
A searchable archive of the new The New York Times, 1851-1999. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Paper of Record
Paper of Record is an archive of historical newspaper articles from the early 1800s to the mid 1900s. List of newspapers with coverage dates.

History, United States: Newspapers

Newspapers

Online Tutorials