History, United States: Primary sources

* SERIES I: MULTI-TITLE PERIODICAL INDEXES
Over 7, 500 pre-1930 periodicals cited, covering science, law, engineering, literature, humanities and social sciences.
Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906
Stead’s Index to Periodicals, 1890-1906
Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals, 1896-1899
Index to Legal Periodical Literature 1786-1937 (Jones and Chipman)
Index to Legal Periodicals, 1908-1935 (American Association of Law Libraries)
Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900 Complete (Royal Society) *
Catalogue of Scientific Papers Subject Indexes -- Mechanics, Physics & Mathematics (Royal Society)
Index to Periodical Articles in Religion, 1890-1899
The Psychological Index, 1894-1905 *
Swem’s Virginia Index, 1619-1930
America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) *
General Index to Engineering Periodicals 1883-1893
Descriptive Index of Current Engineering Literature (Engineering Index) 1857-1899 *
Index to General and Periodical Literature 1850-1899 (Cotgreave)

* SERIES II: BOOK INDEXES AND EXTENSIVE SERIAL RECORDS
Monographic indexes covering both pre-1900 book records as well as post 1900 data with 19th Century classifications
ALA Portrait Index, 1906
ALA Guide to General Literature, 1904
Wright American Fiction II, 1851-1875 *
19th Century Monograph Records through 1930.
Records with Nineteenth-Century classification. (1900-2011) *
19th Century Periodical Title Records

* SERIES III: NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Millions of citations covering notable as well as lesser-known newspapers.
New York Times Index, 1863-1905
New York Daily Tribune Index, 1875-1906
Palmer’s Index to the Times (London), 1880-1890 *
Index to the Oregon Spectator, 1846-1854
Historical Newspapers from Accessible Archives*

* SERIES IV: INDIVIDUAL PERIODICAL INDEXES
Focused indexing, with full text links, covering major periodicals of the period.
Appleton’s Magazine 1869-1881
Catholic World 1865-1901
DeBow’s Magazine 1846-1869
Ladies Repository 1841-1876
Overland Monthly 1868-1900
Princeton Review 1830-1882
Southern Literary Messenger 1834-1864
Southern Quarterly Review 1842-1857
Vanity Fair 1860-1862
Harper’s Magazine Index, 1850-1892
Atlantic Monthly Index, 1857-1901
North American Review 1815-1877
New England Magazine Index 1831-1835
Southern Historical Society Papers
American Missionary, 1878-1901
Bay State Monthly, 1884-1886
American Whig Review, 1845-1852
Century, 1881-1889
Continental Monthly, 1862-1864
Galaxy, 1866-1878
Library Journal Index, 1876-1897
International Monthly Magazine, 1850-1852
Living Age, 1844-1900
Manufacturer and Builder, 1869-1894
Old Guard, 1863-1867
Punchinello, 1870
Putnam’s Monthly, 1853-1870
Scientific American, 1846-1869
Scribner’s Magazine, 1887-1896
Scribner’s Monthly, 1870-1881
United States Democratic Review, 1837-1859
New England Magazine, 1886-1900
New Englander and Yale Review, 1843-1892
St.Nicholas: an illustrated magazine for young folks
Garden and Forest (1888-1897)
Journal of the United States Association of Charcoal Iron Workers (1880-1891)

* SERIES V: US AND UK GOVERNMENT DOCUMENT AND PATENT INDEXES
A trove of resources, from 13th Century UK documents to the Continental Congress to US Patent data.
Smithsonian Annual Reports Index, 1849-1961
Subject matter index of Patents issued by the U.S., 1790-1873
Congressional Record File to 1850 *
Index to the Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789
Records from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (Readex) 1817-1930
American State Papers, 1789-1838, United States Congress
Index to Hickcox Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1885-1894
Descriptive Catalog of the Gov. Pubs. of the U.S., 1774-1881
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1897
Hansard’s Index to Debates, House of Commons only, 1803-1830
Hansard’s Index to Debates, House of Lords only, 1803-1830
Cobbett’s Parliamentary History of England, 1066-1803
Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Government Publications 1789-1900
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1895-1899

"The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library"

From Slavery to the Modern Era
Like African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, this new collection is based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). Drawn from matchless holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals ranges over more than 150 years of American life, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the struggles and triumphs of the modern era. Editorial views from the pages of these periodicals include opinions on the abolitionist movement; "Jim Crow" segregation; African American achievements in literature, music, sports and science; the beginning of the Freedom Movement; the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1968; and more.
The voices of African American society and culture
Featuring news, commentary, advertisements, literature, drawings and photographs, the titles in this unique resource include African Repository, El Mulato, The Black Warrior, Pennsylvania Freedmen's Bulletin, Colored Harvest, Voice of the Negro, Horizon: A Journal of the Color Line, The Crisis: A Record of the Darker Races, Blue Helmet: A Magazine for the American Negro Soldier of All Wars, Harlem Pointer, Right On!, African World, Black Pride Newsletter, and others from every region of the U.S.
Beyond offering opinions on issues and events of the day, the rare titles in African American Periodicals capture the voice of African American society and culture. The publications brought together here—many short-lived and not collected by most libraries—brim with surprises and untold stories.
An America's Historical Periodicals/Archive of Americana collection
Forming the largest database of its kind, African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, is the inaugural America's Historical Periodicals collection. For the broadest coverage available of African American history, culture and daily life, this new collection can be cross-searched with African American Newspapers and other Archive of Americana series.

From African society to the struggle for justice
This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American life -- slave and free -- throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama. Also featured are printed works of African American individuals and organizations.
Fresh scholarship on slavery and African American history
The Afro-Americana Collection began to gain international renown for its size, range, and significance in the late 1960s as scholars initiated fresh studies of slavery's part in the American story. As researchers rediscovered the importance of the long-neglected writings of African Americans, the Library Company's collection became increasingly vital to new scholarship. Today it serves as a critical resource for scholars and students, and a plethora of new research and teaching opportunities will arise from its digitization.
The landmark work behind the digital edition
The magisterial bibliography Afro-Americana 1553-1906 was first published in 1973. A second edition published in 2008, including 2,500 works acquired since 1973, now provides the bibliographic control for the Readex edition. Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 will be fully integrated into America's Historical Imprints for seamless searching with Early American Imprints, Series I and II, including Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia.

An unparalleled resource featuring many rare items
Created in response to specific popular or newsworthy issues and events, many American broadsides and ephemera are graphically stunning, in contrast to most printed items of the time, which were largely textual. Issued locally for short-lived purposes, most broadsides and ephemera were subsequently destroyed. Those that survive today provide an invaluable perspective on nearly every aspect of American history and culture.
Essential information on local and national subjects
The remarkably diverse subjects of broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. American Broadsides & Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900 also offers autobiographies and dying confessions of convicted criminals, theater playbills, sheet almanacs, publishers’ prospectuses, advertisements, newspaper carriers’ addresses, patriotic and popular songs and poems and items illustrating political party organizations and controversies.
A unique look at 18th- and 19th-century America
The ephemera in this digital edition include full-color clipper ship sailing cards, which reflect the enormous increase in commerce between the east and west coasts after the discovery of gold in California. Early trade cards—generally a printed notice of available goods or services—give fresh insights into the consumer culture and business practices of the period. Billheads not only offer information about tradesmen’s products and prices, but also document the goods and services consumers purchased. Other pieces of ephemera include menus and invitations for civic, political and private celebrations; stock certificates illustrated with manufacturers’ vignettes; theater and music programs and more.

Documentaries from key partners The History Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, California Newsreel, Media Rich Learning (forthcoming), Newsreel Films, Pennebaker Hegedus Films , and others provide long-term perspectives on historical events, historical people, and key turning points in American history. These documentaries often incorporate contemporaneous archival footage and photographs; feature interviews with citizens, newsmakers, and other witnesses to history; and make the knowledge, expertise, and enthusiasm of numerous scholars, historians, and researchers readily available. Judicious reenactments of historical moments, particularly with the Civil War, help students visualize important aspects of history, such as the impact of military strategies and tactics on historical outcomes.

Newsreels, routinely shown before feature films in movie houses, were the only way for citizens to see American and foreign events and news during the pre-television era. With contemporaneous footage and coverage of a wide variety of stories—from war and politics, to fashion and sports, and more—newsreels remain a valuable window on American history, society, and culture. American History in Video is the only source where the entire series of United News (governmental newsreel from the Office of War Information) and Universal Newsreel (commercial newsreel from Universal Pictures Company, Inc.) stream in full online. In addition, the collection includes Semantically Indexed and searchable Release Notes, the original documentation provided for each newsreel release in each series.

Public affairs video from series like Longines Chronoscope (Columbia Broadcasting System) were usually created to provide contemporaneous analysis on issues of the day. Through interviews and debates with politicians, diplomats, and a range of foreign and American experts and leaders in a variety of fields, these videos shine a light on the topics, issues, and people considered newsworthy, as well as the received wisdom, in a given time period.

Archival footage adds another critical dimension to historical analysis, with coverage of events and people for an often more specific purpose than other types of video.

Taken together, this rich combination allows students and scholars to study history in new ways, by comparing, for example, the footage, transcript, and tone of government perspectives (United News Newsreel) of the internment of Japanese-Americans in 1942 or D-Day in 1944 with the longer-term perspectives of documentaries like After Silence (Bullfrog Films) or D-Day: The Total Story (The History Channel). [Publisher]

Document types, digitized in full colour, include:

An extensive collection of manuscripts ranging from the early 16th to the mid-20th centuries
A striking collection of artwork including rare American Indian ledger art
Speeches and petitions written by American Indians
Diaries, essays, travel journals and ledger books from early European expeditions
Correspondence, notes and minutes relating to important treaties
Early linguistic studies and ethnographic accounts of American Indian life
Thousands of photographs
Historic maps and atlases
Rare printed books
American Indian newspapers from the 1960s-1990s



This rich selection of primary sources covers such important themes as:

American Indians and the European Powers
American Indians and the US Government
Military Encounters: Conflicts, Rebellions and Alliances
Observation, Representation and Cultural Encounters
Indigenous Peoples of Mexico
First Nations of Canada
Missionaries and Education
Trade and Indian Economies
Civil Rights Movement



Providing information on subjects such as:

Early America and European colonialism including New France, New Spain and British colonialism
Territorial disputes; treaties, land cessions, delegations
Relations with the US Government incorporating treaties, land claims and petitions, the Indian Removal Act and termination
Battles and conflicts such as the French and Indian Wars, the American Revolution, Pontiac's Rebellion, the US Civil War, Creek War, Battle of Washita and the Battles of Little Big Horn
European and inter-tribal Indian alliances
Mexico and the surrounding areas
Canadian First Nations and the fur trade
Religion; the dissemination of Christianity, Jesuits, Missionaries
Education and Indian Boarding schools
Artwork, photographs, journals and travel narratives describing customs, traditions and cultures
20th century political activism; the Red Power Movement, Urban Indian Conferences and the occupation of Alcatraz



The combination of primary documents and secondary resources provides an extensive overview of American Indian History in North America. Key periods covered include:

Pre-contact – see our Interactive Map for visualisations of American Indian migration and trade routes
Early contact between American Indians and Europeans settlers
The first days of the New Republic and the emerging Federalist Era
Relocation policy and the ensuing Indian Removal Act of 1830
Indian Wars, the War of Independence and the American Civil War
Turn of the century politics and the Progressive Era
The impact of the Indian New Deal
The Red Power Movement and the occupation of Alcatraz
Current areas of interest in American Indian study – see our online exhibitions and external links

The Graff Collection is a unique resource which will allow scholars to explore all of these areas and more. Through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources, this collection will act as a dynamic teaching and research resource.
• Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
• Canada and the Pacific Northwest are well documented including accounts of the Gold Rush and of the landscape.
• The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.
• The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.
• Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.
• Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.
• There are rich resources for the study of Texas, Mexico and the South.
• Literary and historical works – as well as contemporary newspapers and posters - enable a better understanding of the real and mythic West – with first hand accounts of the lives of vigilantes and outlaws.
• Native American history and culture is also very well documented.

Original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works.

Module 1 provides truly fascinating content, never before available. It consists of 37 collections from the records of federal government agencies. Here are just a few that are included:

Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945
Department of Justice Classified Subject Files on Civil Rights, 1914-1949
New Deal Agencies and Black America
Records of the Tuskegee Airmen,
President Truman’s Committee on Civil Rights
Records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations
FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.
Civil Rights during the Bush Administration

Module 1 consists of 37 titles and approximately 691,000 pages.

Module 2, The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century, Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1

Mary McLeod Bethune's pioneering work in the field of education from 1904-1955; Marian Anderson's powerful concert at the Lincoln Memorial in 1939; Jackie Robinson's desegregation of Major League Baseball in 1947; Martin Luther King's "I Have a Dream" speech during the March on Washington in 1963. These are just a few of the many fascinating topics and events covered in The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century, Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1, the second module of ProQuest's History Vault.

Among the collections in this module are:

Claude A. Barnett's Associated Negro Press Papers
Mary McLeod Bethune Papers
Bayard Rustin Papers
Papers of A. Philip Randolph
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
Records of the American Committee on Africa
Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs
Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference
The Black Power Movement: Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement
The Black Power Movement: League of Revolutionary Black Workers Papers

A particular highlight of this module is the records of Claude A. Barnett's Associated Negro Press. Founded by Barnett in 1919, over the next five decades the Associated Negro Press covered an amazing variety of stories on black life in America as well as foreign news of interest to blacks. The ANP covered events, trends and personalities within the black community that appealed to a national audience. This included news about black churches (particularly the National Baptist Conventions and the African Methodist Episcopal Church), colleges, fraternal organizations, politicians, social leaders, athletes, criminals, inventors, entertainers, businessmen and businesswomen, and union organizers.

Module 2 consists of 36 titles and approximately 615,000 pages.

It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases:

* Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
* International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)
[journal title list (Excel format)]
* Atlanta Daily World(1932-2003)
* The Chicago Defender(1910-1975)
* Los Angeles Sentinel(1934-2005)
* Black Literature Index (1827-1940)

The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.

It also links to other 19th century full-text sources in your library collection such as the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, British Periodicals, American Periodical Series Online, and Periodicals Archive Online. Much of this content goes un-indexed in various other sources; some is unique to C19.

Incldued in the ten collections are: "North American Slave Narratives" (documents the individual and collective story of African Americans' struggle for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries). "The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865" (presents materials related to Southern life during the Civil War and the challenge of creating a nation state while waging war. This collection includes government documents, personal diaries, religious pamphlets, and many other materials). "The Church in the Southern Black Community" (traces the way Southern African Americans adopted and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life).

A wide variety of 17th- and 18th-century imprints
Early American Imprints, Series I is comprised of a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
Extensive indexing and easy browsing
The imprints in Series I are expertly indexed and may be browsed by genre, subjects, author, history of printing, place of publication and language. Topics covered include agriculture, astronomy, auctions, capital punishment, child rearing, commerce, constitution, diseases, education, foreign affairs, French & Indian wars, geography, Indians, Latin, lotteries, masonry, medicine, military operations, missionaries, operas, religious thought, revolutionary war, slavery, suffrage, temperance, trials, witchcraft, women, work, yellow fever and thousands more.
A dramatic expansion of Evans, 1639-1800
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets, broadsides, and U.S. House and Senate Bills and Resolutions, most of which were not included in either Charles Evans’ monumental work or Roger Bristol’s supplement. Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia offers nearly 1,000 rare and unique items printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation. Fully integrated, these two modules enable students and scholars to locate relevant material from both collections simultaneously.

Explore the early 1800s in unprecedented depth and detail
Through Early American Imprints, Series II, students and scholars can extensively research westward expansion, the development of American arts (literature, music, painting, etc.), the progression of American political thought and much more. In addition to books, broadsides and pamphlets, the collection includes published reports and the works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Additionally, a large number of state papers and early government materials—including presidential letters and congressional, state and territorial resolutions—chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation.
Extensive indexing by subject
The imprints in Series II are expertly indexed and grouped by genre, subject, author, history of printing, place of publication and language. Subjects include the following: 12th Amendment, abolitionism, Adams-Onis Treaty, Bible societies, canals, Embargo Act, fur trade, Hartford Convention, Lewis & Clark Expedition, Louisiana Purchase, nationalism, Panic of 1819, Romanticism, Seminole War, Tippecanoe, Treaty of Ghent, U.S. Military Academy, War of 1812 and hundreds more. In addition to searchable, OCR-generated ASCII text that is associated with each image, Early American Imprints, Series II features bibliographic records from the American Antiquarian Society, which is also upgrading the MARC records for the Readex digital edition.
A dramatic expansion of Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets, broadsides, and U.S. House and Senate Bills and Resolutions, most of which were not included in Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker's American Bibliography. Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia offers nearly 1,000 items printed during the Early Republic, spanning the inauguration of Thomas Jefferson and passage of the Indian Civilization Act. Fully integrated, these two modules enable students and scholars to locate relevant material from both collections simultaneously.

Organized alphabetically by organization, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural, and economic issues. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society. This collection supports a wide variety of courses in U.S. history, cultural studies, radical politics, and social movements. Documents include:

* COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI
* FBI File on Abbie Hoffman
* FBI File on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina
* FBI File on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers
* FBI File on the Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University
* FBI Files on Malcolm X
* FBI File: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning)
* FBI File on Muslim Mosque, Inc.
* FBI File on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU)
* FBI File on the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization
* FBI File on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
* FBI Investigation File on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.

The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.

Periodical Series
Periodicals constitute 25 percent of the entire collection. For the years from 1860 through 1900, the period covered by most of the titles, there is no comparable resource. Gerritsen scrupulously sought complete runs, and her successors acquired additional materials to fill whatever gaps arose. The result is a collection containing such titles as The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).

Monograph Language Series
There are over 4,000 monographs and pamphlets, comprising 75 percent of the titles. They are grouped by language:

* English - With more than 2,000 titles, this is the greatest single source for tracing suffragism and feminism in the English-speaking world. Included are Carrie Chapman Catt's Ought Women to Have Votes for Members of Parliament? (1879), as well as Anti-Suffrage Essays by Massachusetts Women (1916).
* German - These 929 titles document the history of an organized movement, as well as women and socialism, Jewish women's status, and Swiss feminism.
* French - the 734 French titles cover women in the military, law, and reforms in women's legal, civil, and economic rights, as well as women's influence on French literature from Gallic times through World War II.
* Other languages - 12 languages and 472 titles.

For each monograph, The Gerritsen Collection includes an English-language summary of its contents.

Subject areas include: Europe, Latin America, Nuclear History, China and East Asia, U.S. Intelligence, Middle East and South Asia, September 11 Sourcebooks, Humanitarian Interventions, Government Secrecy.

Never before have scholars been able to search these documents easily and find answers to complex questions with just a few clicks. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. (publisher)

Drawn from more than 1,000 sources and representing 1,500 women from all walks of life, the writings are extensively indexed. Databases of women, sources, personal events, historical events, a geographical table, and other features make the writings useful to researchers in history, sociology, literature, genealogy, women¿s studies, and related fields.

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 contains colour digital images of archival material sourced from key libraries and organisations in Britain and America, including:
• The Browne Popular Culture Library, Bowling Green State University
• The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley
• The National Archives, Kew
• The University of Sussex Library, Special Collections
• Rock Source Archive
Other supporting libraries and organisations include:

• Barclay Group
• Barry Miles
• Beaulieu National Motor Museum
• BIBA
• Bill Harry
• British Telecom
• Huntley Film Archive
• ITN Source
• Mirrorpix
• NASA
• OZ
• The People's History Museum
• Robert Opie Collection

The resource will enable students and scholars to examine key issues and events of the period, including:

• Student Activism across Europe and the US, including the disturbances in France in Mai ‘68
• The Vietnam conflict
• The fight for Civil Rights
• Women’s Liberation
• Fashion and Youth Culture
• The Music Scene
• Book, Magazine and Film Censorship

Key Features include:
Rock and Roll features an extensive interactive chronology, covering significant events for every year between 1950 and 1975. Discover fascinating facts, read quotes from key figures, view images, and search for a theme or artist.
Witness the sights and sounds of the period for yourself by viewing our selection of Video Clips. Topics and events covered include:
• The Race Riots in Atlanta, Georgia
• An Anti-War Protest Rally in Washington D C
• The Beatles across America
• Early space travel
• Responses to the death of Martin Luther King
Visual Resources:
o Search Thematic Image Galleries
o View evocative photographs from the Mirrorpix Archive
o Learn more about major topics through the Online Exhibitions

This resource contains:• 2.6 million cross-searchable pages: 11969 books, 158 serials, 52 manuscript collections and 377 supreme court records and briefs
• Newly commissioned essays, links to websites, biographies, chronology and bibliographies; reference materials from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias
• Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions

Slavery as an institution goes back much further to the ancient Mediterranean civilisations of Egypt, Greece, the Roman Empire, Assyria and the Islamic Caliphate. A few rare books included within this project will look back to these earlier periods, but our principal focus here will be 1490-2007. This project provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and colour.

The aim of this collection is to provide a comprehensive view of alternative comics from the 1960s to today, particularly those from North America. There are a limited number of pre-1960s materials included due to their influence on later works and their overall historical significance.
The collection contains scans of both original comics and reprint books. Wherever possible we have included the original comic books instead of, or in addition to, later reprints. Since many underground comics were anthologies, we have only included those stories for which we have received permission from the copyright holders.
This collection contains graphic scenes of sex, violence, and drug use that some may find offensive. It is therefore recommended that this collection not be viewed by children or those that are sensitive to such materials.

For more information, watch the 4 minute video

The resource is divided into three self contained sections:

* Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
* Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
* Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment

They are to be found among the Ferrar Papers because from 1619 until the company's dissolution in 1624 two of old Nicholas's sons – John (1619-22) and Nicholas (1622-24) – held in succession the office of Deputy and conducted the company's daily business from the family's home on St Sithes Lane in the City.

- Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
- More than 23,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. We plan to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually. For a full bibliography please click on the Primary Sources link above.
- A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
- A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
- Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects. * website's document projects.

(Publisher)