LibGuides: History, Canadian: Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections

Childhood and Youth Culture

Aubrey Golden (F0510)
Fonds consists of files from the law practice of Aubrey Golden. Some files deal with the conflict between the culture of "hippies" and sit-ins and an older generation represented by City Council as well as claims of police brutality during demonstrations and unauthorized searches for drugs. 1967-1971.
Gordon Hamilton Jack (F0331)
The fonds includes copies of 'Canadian student' (published by the Student Christian Movement), 'The student,' (Student League of Canada), 'Youth forum,' (Canadian Youth Congress), and 'The new commonwealth,' (Co-operative Commonwealth Federation), 1934-1936.
Ruth McVeigh (F0582)
Fonds consists of news clippings, correspondence recordings and paraphernalia related to the Mariposa Folk Festival, which Ruth (Jones) McVeigh founded in 1961. See also the digitised collection from the Mariposa Folk Foundation.
See also -
Family Fonds - Lennox family (F0549), George Reid (F00566), Western Canada - Paul Sullivan (F0141)

Economic History

Robert MacLaren Fowler (F0306)
The fonds consists of material from the Royal Commission on Dominion-Provincial Relations (Rowell-Sirois) including tax forms, notes and estimates relating to unemployment in Canada and reports issued on the taxing power in Canada, debt adjustment, excise duties, and studies of federal systems in other countries. 1936-1945
Donald Mackenzie (F0348)
Donald Mackenzie operated a butcher shop and general store in Woodbridge and was a liquor license inspector for the West Riding of York. The fonds consists of ledgers and day books for the business and account books and correspondence, petitions, registers, license records and related material for the West Riding of York Liquor License Inspector. 1875-1927
George James Rogers (F0397)
In 1952 Rogers founded the Canadian Economic Foundation which proposed to alleviate labour-management conflicts through a programme of economic education directed at workers and the general public that was anti-government spending and anti-socialist. The fonds includes correspondence, audio reels, films, and related visual materials used in presentations. 1905-1967

Environment

Paul F. Wilkinson (F0637)
Wilkinson worked on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks and documents include correspondence, minutes, reports, national park management plans, conservation plans, ecosystem and biodiversity strategic plans, environmental assessment reports, and newspaper clippings. 1973, 1985-2009
Lou Wise (0539)
This fonds consists of low-level oblique aerial photographs of water sheds and conservation areas in southern Ontario. 1986-2003. Digitized.
York University Pollution Probe (F0026)
Documents the activities of the York University chapter of Pollution Probe for the period 1969-1973.

Family Fonds

Beer family (F0375)
Private Walter Beer was a soldier during World War I and was killed in action in France. His sister, Vivien Beer, was engaged to Captain James R. Allan, who was also killed in action in France. Fonds consists of correspondence, press clippings and photographs of Allan and Beer while serving in World War I and scenes of various members of the Beer family. 1914-1919. Digitized
Lennox family (F0549)
– Fonds consists of correspondence, photographs, diaries, college yearbooks and transcriptions of oral interviews. The majority of archival material relates to John Watt Lennox who was killed in action in WWII. 1900-1963
Martin family (F0107)
Fonds consists of correspondence of Emma Martin Sullivan, Adelaide Township, Ontario, and includes letters from her sister in Kansas, her brother, Neal, in Saskatchewan, and her aunt, Elizabeth Munson in Ontario. 1876-1912
George Reid (F00566)
Fonds consists of textual records about the life of George E.A. Reid and his family including diaries, letters, scrapbooks, photographs, drawings, and home movies. [ca. 1915]-2008
Dorothy Stepler (F0170)
Fonds includes diaries and letters of Gordon Stepler written during World War I and sent to his parents and sister. Also included are postcards, a discharge certificate, photographs, a pay book, leave passes and other ephemera. Digitized
See also -
Western Canada - Paul Sullivan (F0141)

First Nations

Aubrey Golden (F0510)
Fonds consists of files from the law practice of Aubrey Golden. First Nations and aboriginal rights were a major focus of his practice. Golden represented a number of First Nations in fights against pipelines, uranium exploration, claims over mercury poisoning, aboriginal title and hunting rights. 1968-1984.
Michael Posluns (F0382)
Michael Posluns has conducted research, written reports, briefs and monographs on behalf of and about First Nations. He has served as a parliamentary adviser to the Assembly of First Nations, the Native Indian Brotherhood, the Dene Nation and other bodies. Materials include a run of the nerwspaper 'Akwasasne notes,' interviews with First Nations elders, Native music and tapes relating to Native folklore. 1967-1985
Don Simpson (F0592)
Don Simpson was involved in various projects relating to Aboriginal people such as a Native broadcasting system, land claims in the 1970s, the Indian Brotherhood of the Northwest Territories, the Southern Support Group, and the Dene Nation's opposition to the construction of the Mackenzie Valley Pipeline. Records include copies of treaties and agreements, news clippings and media coverage, reports, correspondence, speeches, government publications, posters and buttons. 1972-1981
William Wicken (F0568)
Fonds consists of project files created by William Wicken through his work as researcher and expert witness in projects and legal cases involving Mi'kmaq treaties, and their rights to hunt, fish, and trade. 1992-2008

Immigration and Multiculturalism

Canadian Italian Business and Professionals Association (CIBPA) (F0560)
The organisation was founded in 1952 to assist with the integration of new immigrants into Canadian society and raise funds for different causes. In addition the association held events with the aim of promoting business and social interaction between its members and with the wider community. 1949-2007
Desh Pardesh Festival (F0522)
Desh Pardesh was a multidisciplinary arts festival dedicated to providing a venue for underrepresented and marginalized voices within the South Asian diasporic community. It operated from 1988 to 2001.
Sheldon and Judy Godfrey collection (F0435)
As well as published works, the fonds contains correspondence, financial and legal documents, research notes, and 19th century newspapers regarding Jewish families in Canada that provides information regarding their involvement in economic, cultural and political affairs, including the fur trade. 1434-2003
Anna-Liisa Lumiala (F0633)
This collection of letters to a friend back in Finland provides insight into the day-to-day life of a Finnish immigrant woman who moved to Canada to create a new life for herself with her husband and family after World War II. Originals in Finnish but English translations for all. 1943-1979
Domingos Marques (F0573)
Fonds consists of transcripts of interviews with Portuguese immigrants, collected ephemera, notes, research material and photographs related to Marques' activities as an activist, newspaper editor and municipal politician within the Portuguese community of Toronto. Some materials are written or transcribed Portuguese. 1953-2002. Many of the photographs are digitized.
Margaret Norquay (F0176)
A series in this fonds consists of briefs, memos, questionnaires to teachers, bulletins, statistics, minutes, notices, correspondence, reports and other material related created and/or accumulated by Norquay while she was a member of the Social Planning Council: Community Committee on Immigrant Children. 1964 to 1972
Operation Lifeline - To Save The Boat People (F0369)
This organisation was established in 1979 to assist the integration into Canadian society of south Asian immigrants and refugees, particularly those from Vietnam, following the end of the Vietnamese War. 1978-1985

Photographs

Toronto Telegram (F0433)
The 'Toronto telegram' newspaper (originally the 'Evening telegram,') was launched in 1876. The fonds includes roughly 500,000 prints of photos taken for the newspaper during the period 1876-1971, with the bulk of the photos being from 1939 through to 1971. Collection partially digitized.
John Warkentin (F0184)
Warkentin is a geographer, teacher and photographer and the fonds includes an extensive collection of photographic slides from across Canada used for research and teaching. 1967-2010
See also,
Environment - Lou Wise (0539)

Toronto

Sheldon Esbin collection (F06180)
The items in this collection predominantly pertain to Toronto and the history of its neighbourhoods, architecture, religious and educational institutions, organizations, publications, cultural and arts-related events, tourism, real estate and building developments, commercial trade, and special events. [18--]-2010
H. Roy Merrens (F0356)
Merrens has a special interest in the use and development of Toronto's waterfront. He was a member of the Toronto Harbour Commission and is a founding member of both Forward 9, a citizen's association in Ward 9 and Citizens for a Better Waterfront and has been Chairman of the Waterfront Task Force. 1969-1999
Luigi Nasato (F0675)
Luigi Nasato was an Italian-Canadian mosaicist, painter and commercial illustrator. Many of the drawings, sketches, paintings, and preliminary studies included in the fonds relate to projects completed in Toronto and environs, particularly to mosaic projects created at a number of churches.1931-2015
Henry Leslie Rowntree (F0399)
The fonds consists of material related to the proposed expansion of Toronto International Airport (now Pearson International Airport) in 1968-1970.
Stop Spadina Save Our City Co-ordinating Committee (F0417)
This committee was established in 1969 as an advocacy group attempting to halt the extension of the William R. Allen Road (the Spadina Expressway) into the core of the City of Toronto. The fonds includes documents, recordings and a filmed statement by Jane Jacobs and Marshall McLuhan on Spadina titled, 'The burning would.' 1969-1975
York University Historical Collection
(F0450) Correspondence, photographs, genealogical charts, family histories, newspaper clippings, publications and related material detailing the history of the site on which the Keele Street campus of York University now stands. 1885-2006
See also,
Environment - Lou Wise (0539), Photographs - John Warkentin (F0184)

Trade Unionism and Socialism

Edward Arthur Beder (F0264)
Beder, political activist and author, was involved with the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF). Beder also served as Secretary of the Canadian League Against War and Fascism and was Secretary of the Socialist Party of Canada (Ontario Section). 1921-1972
Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (F0287)
The fonds consists of transcripts of interviews conducted with several leading lights of the Canadian socialist and Canadian Co-operative Federation movements. Included are interviews with Hazen Argue, William Irvine, David Lewis, Tommy Douglas, Grace McInness, Frank Underhill, and Tim Buck. 1961
Giles Endicott (F0562)
Giles Endicott played a significant leadership role in the early days of the Ontario wing of the Waffle party. Fonds consists of Endicott's Waffle records and includes such items as correspondence, a chronological survey of documents dealing with the Waffle and public reaction and documents leading to the Waffle Manifesto.
Ray Stevenson (F0167)
The fonds consists of documents related to Ray Stevenson's various activities as trade union member, labour organizer, member of the Communist Party of Canada and participant in the peace movement. 1915-2000
Robert Owen Foundation (F0395)
This foundation was begun in 1932 with the goal of promoting cooperative enterprises in Canada. The fonds documents its activities and contains files on the free speech movement in the 1930s; the beginnings of the socialist movement in Canada; the pacifist movement in the 1930s; the social gospel movement and the creation of the state of Israel. 1927-1948. English, French and German.
Women, social justice, and Canadian trade unions collection (F0494)
Collection consists of publications, policy statements, research reports, conference and educational documents, and newsletters on women and equity in organized labour in Canada. 1973-2006
See also,
Childhood and Youth - Gordon Hamilton Jack (F0331)

Quebec

Fernand Ouellet fonds (F0371)
Ouellet is the author of several works on the history of nineteenth-century French Canada. The fonds include archival material collected in the course of his research. 1825-1984
Quebec Tercentenary Photograph collection (F0112)
In 1908, the City of Quebec celebrated its 300th anniversary with royal guests and dignitaries, military parades, pageants and re-enactments.

Western Canada

Herbert Hunt (F0683)
In 1926 Herbert William Hunt and his family, were accepted a joint initiative by the United Kingdom and Canada to resettle British families on farmland in central and western Canada. After spending a challenging decade in Saskatchewan, Hunt and his wife returned to England in 1936. Fonds consists of diaries, account books, crop records, photographs, publications written by Hunt, letters, contracts, receipts, government documents, articles, maps, and ephemera. 1926-1938. Collection has been digitized.
Paul Sullivan (F0141)
The fonds includes letters written between 1911-1915 and describing the daily life, concerns, and opinions of a young man first as a farm worker, and then teacher, on the prairies immediately prior to enlisting to fight in World War I at the age of 16. There are also letters written between 1914-1943 describing the life of a homesteader who has moved to Saskatchewan to homestead and operate a business during difficult economic times.

Women

Jean Augustine (F0515)
Jean M. Augustine is a Grenada-born Canadian who was the first female candidate of African descent to be elected to Parliament. Fonds includes materials relating to her activities as a community activist and teacher; her administration of the Metro Toronto Housing Authority; her participation on various boards, organizations and associations; and her activities as a federal politician and member of cabinet. 1950-2005. Digital Exhibition -Pushing Buttons, Pushing Stories
Childbirth by Choice Trust (F0513)
Consists of research and reference material in the form of subject files, reports, briefs, clippings, drafts, notes and correspondence including letters from supporters and adversaries, legal documentation pertaining to cases about abortion law, publications by government offices, support groups, etc. 1961-2005
Marilou McPhedran (F0514)
McPhedran is a lawyer, reformer and activist and the fond includes products of her work in women's international and national rights, women's health, and violence against women and children. 1985-2003 Some access restrictions.
Rendezvous Club (F0532) - 1937-2004
and Retired Women Teachers of Ontario (F0196) - 1956-2005 These linked organisations provided a way for members to maintain friendships made during teaching careers and also lobby for pension parity. Fonds include photograph albums; minutes meetings; scrapbooks and newspaper clippings; convention reports, programs and newsletters; history files arranged by geographic location. Files with personal information are restricted.
See also,
Immigration - Anna-Liisa Lumiala (F0633), Trade Unionism and Socialism - Women, social justice, and Canadian trade unions collection (F0494), Family Fonds - George Reid (F0566).

Special Collections

Canadian Pamphlet Collection
The Canadian Pamphlet Collection dates from the 18th century to the present, and covers a wide variety of subjects that include social and political issues, religion, fine arts, and women’s studies. New areas being considered are ephemeral materials generated by Toronto refugee groups and environmental organizations in the greater Toronto area.

The Special Collections are rare, scarce and atypical published items actively assembled with intent by a person, organization or repository. Below is a small selection.

The Gibson Collection
Robert Chalmers Gibson, after almost fifty years of of collecting rare books and manuscripts, donated his Canadiana collection to York University in 1994. The Gibson Collection is particularly strong in early Canadiana, particularly travel narratives and geographic treatises.
Shiela Thibaudeau Lambrinos Collection
The Lambrinos Collection, which houses over 650 children’s textbooks, teacher’s manuals and novels (published between 1843 to 1992), is a rich source of insight into a distinctly Canadian, colonial and post-colonial, understanding of the world.
Varpu Lindström Collection
Collection consists of early, rare and scarce publications related to the Finnish community and diaspora in North America. Includes almanacs, periodicals, song books, history books, and the contents of the Finnish Organization of Canada (FOC) circulating library of plays, musicals and librettos.