History, Canadian: Government sources

The digital images within this database are copies of the original microfilm records held by Library and Archives Canada. 1851 Census images for New Brunswick and Nova Scotia are presented with the support of the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick [http://archives.gnb.ca/Archives/Default.aspx?L=EN] and Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management [www.gov.ns.ca/nsarm]. Please note, parts of the 1851 census did not survive and therefore no digital images exist. [quoted Library Archives Canada]

The 1881 Census offers a rich source of information about Canada and Canadians. Through this research tool, you can access digitized images of original census returns which list the name, age, country or province of birth, nationality, religion, and occupation of Canada's residents at the time of the 1881 Census. (quoted from the Library and Archives webpage]

The 1891 Census offers a rich source of information about Canada and Canadians. Through this research tool, you can access digitized images of original census returns which list the name, age, country or province of birth, nationality, religion, and occupation of Canada's residents at the time of the 1891 Census. (quoted from the Library and Archives webpage]

The 1901 Census offers a rich source of information about Canada and Canadians at the turn of the 20th Century. Through this research tool you can access digitized images of the original census returns, which record age, nationality, religion, profession, income, education, etc for every single resident of Canada on 31 March 1901. (quoted from the Library and Archives webpage]

In order to track the high rates of population growth in western Canada, the Canadian government called for a special census of the prairie provinces (Manitoba, and the two newly created provinces of Saskatchewan, and Alberta). This endeavour continued every 10 years from 1906 to 1956, at which time the Census of the Northwest Provinces became part of the Canada-wide census.

Conducted under the provisions of the Census and Statistics Act (1905), the Fifth General Census of Canada began on 01 June and collected information related to each inhabitant of the country, including place of habitation, marital status, age, place of birth, religion, occupation, education, etc.

A unique electronic resource that provides information on the electoral history of Canada since Confederation. Included you will find the names of all the candidates to all the federal elections as well as a description of all the ridings.

Contains the complete annual reports for the department from 1967 to 1990 and also contains the annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966.

Sub-series consists of files dealing with all aspects of Indian school administration throughout Canada. Note that, although this sub-series contains only records relating to schools and education, not all departmental headquarters central registry files relating to schools and education for the years 1879-1953 are found in this sub-series.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) holds an extensive, but not a complete, collection of historic Canadian Indian treaties, land surrenders, and related agreements (ITS). The collection contains a variety of documents that span more than 275 years, including a May 1680 seigneurial grant to the Jesuits in New France, and a 1956 adhesion to western Treaty 6 (1876).