Government sources

Governments and inter-governmental organizations (like the UN) publish documents, reports, articles and books on every conceivable topic and thus are a good source of information.

British Non-Parliamentary Publications
Aims to save researchers wasting valuable research time and effort finding relevant British Official Publications over the period 1688 -1995. Previously part of the BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) collections.
more...less...
Providing a Web-based bibliographic database which enables them, from their own desktops, to:

* search and browse for relevant documents without having to visit libraries to consult hard-copy reference tools, or needing to seek assistance from reference librarians
* read abstracts, and view detailed consistent subject indexing, of key documents so they can assess whether they need to see the full document or not
* find out the nearest location of relevant documents if they decide they need them
* read the digitised full-text version of a limited number of documents
British Parliamentary Publications
Aims to save researchers wasting valuable research time and effort finding relevant British Official Publications over the period 1688 -1995. Previously part of the BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) collections.
Elections and Ridings
Information about Canadian federal elections and ridings.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
See the Research Guide for British Parliamentary Papers for more information.
History of the Federal Electoral Ridings since 1867
A unique electronic resource that provides information on the electoral history of Canada since Confederation. Included you will find the names of all the candidates to all the federal elections as well as a description of all the ridings.

Need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research?

Visit a research/reference desk at one of the libraries.

Chat online with a research specialist.

History - General: Government sources

Government Sources

Need help?

Online Tutorials