Newspapers

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date information on virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.
more...less...
Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable in Gale Digital Collection
19th Century British Library Newspapers
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
more...less...
Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
New York Times
A searchable archive of the new The New York Times, 1851 - 2013. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star
An electronic newspaper archive of The Toronto Star, covering the years 1894 - 2018. Includes stories, editorial and opinion pieces,advertisements, birth and death notices. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.
Paper of Record
Paper of Record is an archive of historical newspaper articles from the early 1800s to the mid 1900s. List of newspapers with coverage dates.
Saskatchewan News Index 1884-2000
This web site offers a searchable index of stories published in Saskatchewan newspapers.
The Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843–2020 presents a digital collection of every issue of The Economist between 1843 and 2020 — including editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, historical photographs, classified advertising, special surveys and supplements on countries and industries. Also included are renowned sections including the Bagehot, Lexington, and Charlemagne columns.
more...less...
In addition, the archive provides a selection of charts and tables that are downloadable, allowing users to save statistical tables and financial and economic data in spreadsheet format.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
An electronic newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail, covering the years 1844 - 2013. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.
Times Digital Archive
Researchers can search through the complete (1785-2019) digital edition of The Times (London) using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodiclas, 1800-1900
By the completion of the five-series set, some 125,000 titles are expected to be identified, located and described.
Newsbank African American Newspapers
This database indexes African American newspapers that provide first hand accounts of the major events of the day including the Mexican War, Congressional Abstracts, Presidential and Congressional addresses. Also includes early biographies, vital statistics and creative writing all of which represents the African American experience.
more...less...
Time period covered is the 19th century. Library subscribes only to the following:

* Part I: Freedom's Journal, New York, 1827-Mar. 1829; Colored American, New York, 1837-Mar. 1840; The North Star, Rochester, NY, 1847-July 1849; National Era, Washington, DC, 1847-Dec. 1848.

* Part II: Colored American, 1840-41; The North Star, July 1849-1851; Frederick Douglass Paper (continuation of The North Star), 1851-May 1852; National Era, 1847-Dec. 1850; Provincial Freeman, Toronto, ON, 1854-Dec. 18, 1855.

* Part III: Frederick Douglass Paper, May 1852-Dec. 1852; National Era, Dec. 1850-Dec. 1853; Provincial Freeman, Dec. 1855-57; The Christian Recorder, Toronto, ON, 1861-April 1862.
The Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond the Windy City, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925.
It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military.
more...less...
This newspaper also supported the aviation career of Bessie Coleman, the first African-American female pilot, and promoted the writing of Langston Hughes and Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks. {ProQuest)
Los Angeles Sentinel
From its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans to not "spend your money where you can't work," the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change, and empowered the black community. By accessing more than 70 years of cover-to-cover reporting, today's readers view the Depression through the eyes of African-Americans in the 1930s. They can follow the grass-roots struggle against the racially restrictive housing covenants of the 1940s.
more...less...
Researchers can follow Roy Wilkins' column, "The Watchtower," and see how he attacked efforts to label civil rights activists as "communists" during the Cold War. Today, this independent publication continues to cover community and world issues from the unique cultural perspective of the Los Angeles African-American community.

Need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research?

Visit a research/reference desk at one of the libraries.

Chat online with a research specialist.

History - General: Newspapers

Newspapers

Need help?

Online Tutorials