History - General: Primary sources

The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.

Incldued in the ten collections are: "North American Slave Narratives" (documents the individual and collective story of African Americans' struggle for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries). "The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865" (presents materials related to Southern life during the Civil War and the challenge of creating a nation state while waging war. This collection includes government documents, personal diaries, religious pamphlets, and many other materials). "The Church in the Southern Black Community" (traces the way Southern African Americans adopted and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life).

At the core of this site are the full texts of thirty-eight manuscripts that are known collectively as the Masson Papers and cover the period ca 1790-1820. The patrimonial importance of these diaries is of the first order and provide important insights into the history of the North West Company and the fur trade in general.

There are roughly 20,000 pages of electronic transcriptions of texts. These include oral histories; personal narratives, notes, and letters; government documents, publications, circulars, and reports; and other types of documents. And over 10,000 images, including photographic prints, negatives, drawings, and watercolor paintings, can be searched and browsed in JARDA.

Never before have scholars been able to search these documents easily and find answers to complex questions with just a few clicks. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. (publisher)

Drawn from more than 1,000 sources and representing 1,500 women from all walks of life, the writings are extensively indexed. Databases of women, sources, personal events, historical events, a geographical table, and other features make the writings useful to researchers in history, sociology, literature, genealogy, women¿s studies, and related fields.

Student Activism across Europe and the US, including the disturbances in France in Mai ‘68
The Vietnam conflict
The fight for Civil Rights
Women’s Liberation
Fashion and Youth Culture
The Music Scene
Book, Magazine and Film Censorship.
The collection includes:

A wide range of Printed and Manuscript material - pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period
The renowned Social Protest Collection from University of California, Berkeley
A wide range of Underground magazines including OZ and IT;
Striking visual material - thousands of indexed photographs depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s
Ephemera and Memorabilia - posters, pins and artefacts
Video - a collection of carefully selected video footage
[Publisher]

* Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
* More than 23,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. We plan to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually. For a full bibliography please click on the Primary Sources link above.
* A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
* A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
* Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.

(Publisher)