Where you look for a test depends on whether it is a commercial or non-commercial test. If you're not sure of what type of test you are trying to find, then try the suggestions for both types.
Suggestions for both types of tests, including search tactics, appear to the right. For quick reference, these tools are:
There are several methods for trying to track down non-commercial tests.
PsycTESTS
Check to see if the test is available in PsycTESTS.
Compendia
Compendia are collections of tests, often centred around a common theme or area of psychology. The Psychology Resource Centre (available to 4th year thesis students, graduate students, and faculty in psychology) has a Compendia Test Database. Consult the database to see if the test is available through a compendia. If you find the test in that database, note Compendia code. Check the Compendia Legend for further information about what is available (e.g., full tests, descriptions only). Note the call number and location of the Compendia. It may be available in the Psychology Resource Centre or in one of York University's libraries.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
1. In Health and Psychosocial Instruments, select "Title" and enter the name of the test. Select "Primary Source" in Limits. Run the search.
2. View results and select "Complete Reference" for appropriate records. The record will provide a reference to an article in which the test may be included. Find It @ York will provide information about the document's availability.
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Consult the Title Index for the Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures (BF 431 J29 2001, Scott Reference). It will provide a reference number (e.g. 3583) that you can look up in the Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures (BF 431 D49, Scott Reference) for the corresponding entry. This entry will provide further information about where the test you seek was used (generally a journal article) . Check the library catalogue to see if you can access the article. The test may be available as part of the article.
PsycINFO
Check PsycINFO to find references in articles to the test. Articles that reference the test may contain the test itself.
Note that PsycINFO tracks the use of both commercial and non-commercial tests. However, articles will never provide access to commercial tests.
1. Use Advanced Search.
2. Under "Search Option", select "Look up Tests & Measures". Enter name of test. Select relevant results and click "Add to Search".
The Library does NOT collect commercial tests. However, the Psychology Resource Centre (available to psychology faculty, graduate students and 4th year undergraduate thesis students) has a substantial collection of commercial tests. To check if they have a particular commercial test, check the Centre's Commercial Test Database.