LibGuides: Human Rights in Africa: Statutes & Cases

Statutes

Human rights legislation for a few African countries can be accessed here:

African Legislation (Organisation of South African Law Libraries)
This is a current awareness page of the Organisation of South African Law Libraries. It features new legislation from selected African countries periodically.
WorldLII
WorldLII is a free database that covers over 123 jurisdictions. It provides access to limited resources for African countries.

Case Law

Case law for African countries can be found in the listed database in the Osgoode Hall Law School Library collection and Internet resources. If you are accessing the database from outside the university campus you will be prompted for your Passport York account user id and password.

Oxford Reports on International Law
This database provides access to cases decided under the African Charter on Human and People's Rights in both the court and the commission; as well as cases from the Southern African Development Community Tribunal.
International Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights (INTERIGHTS)
This is the website of INTERIGHTS, an NGO based in London, England. Decisions available here are from both Commonwealth domestic courts and courts and tribunals applying the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights.
African Human Rights Caselaw Analyser
The Case Analyser is a free database that covers decisions on African Human Rights in English and French. It is searchable and there are hyperlinks directly to the laws cited in the cases. It was created by the Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems International (HURIDOCS) and the Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa.