Finance: Benchmarking

A website of Aswath Damodaran, Professor of Finance at the Stern School of Business at New York University. Contains updated tables of data related to the courses he teaches on valuation, portfolio management and applied corporate finance. Includes historical industry ratio & beta, along with a wealth of other data.

First Research within the database includes Financial Information on the left column once in an industry report which gives industry ratio averages (data from MicroBilt Corporation based on private companies).

A dual duty database. Contains not only articles but also company and industry information. Click Companies/Markets then Company and search for a company, in the left column select Reports, the Ratio Comparison Report provides five year ratio and beta values for the company and associated industry, sector and S&P 500.

The database contains industry benchmarks from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios including solvency, efficiency and profitability. Users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. They are broken down into median figures, with upper and lower quartiles. Coverage is mainly of U.S. companies, though coverage of Canadian companies is growing. Browsing using Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes is recommended. Steston University has developed a useful Libguide with step-by-step instructions on how to effectively access ratios in KBR.

This publication presents balance sheet, income statement and changes in financial position and selected financial ratios data on a quarterly basis covering 31 financial and non-financial sectors and their totals at the all Canada level. The industry breakdowns are based on the North American Industry Classification System for companies and enterprises. Starting with the first quarter of 2020, the Quarterly Survey of Financial Statements (QSFS) underwent a planned content update to better align it with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), which were adopted by Canadian enterprises starting in 2011. This publication has been discontinued since March 2016. Data tables are available at Table: 33-10-0007-01 (formerly CANSIM 187-0001) and Table: 33-10-0008-01 (formerly CANSIM 187-0002).
Older issues (1996-2000) available in print at the Scott Library (CAN1 CS8.5 61-008)

This publication contains annual aggregate data of Canadian enterprises classified by 67 industry groups. The industry breakdowns are based on the North American Industry Classification System for companies and enterprises. The data include: asset, liability and equity items encompassed in a balance sheet, revenue and expense items as reported on an income statement, along with several common financial performance ratios. This publication has been discontinued since March 2016. Data tables are now available in Table 33-10-0006-01 (formerly CANSIM 180-0003)
Older issues (1995-1998) available in print at the Scott Library (CAN1 CS8.5 61-219)

Developed by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, "provides access to more than 1000 industries across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small businesses determine how they measure up to their competitors."

Free industry financial operating ratios here. Quarterly.

US Industry Reports contain industry financial ratios from RMA Annual Statement Studies.

Composite financial data including balance sheet and income statement information as well as important ratios for North American firms. Organized by NAICS industry codes (North American Industry Classification System), information is also provided for various asset sizes and sales ranges.
HF 5681 B2 R6 Reference

Provides short introductory reports on each industry and detailed 1-2 page reports on the key companies in each industry.
HG 4501 V26 Reference

Balance sheet and income statement information, financial ratios for S&P 500 and sub indices. Arranged by GICS.
HG 4519 S772 Reference