Indexes & Databases

Google Scholar Search

Lib X - "Find it at York" using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to easily find articles at York University.
Just download LibX, a plugin for Firefox or Internet Explorer.

LibX is very useful. It gives quick and easy access to the library’s catalogue and online journals. We’ve specially customized a version for use by York people.

Finding relevant resources in the library couldn’t be easier.

Download it here.

Indexes and Databases bring together a number of different online journals and other resources into one search engine. Use these tools to find citations, abstracts and/or full text articles, reports and other resources on your topic. Both scholarly and popular articles may be included.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The IEEE Digital Library contains ebooks, journals, conferences and articles relevant for all areas of engineering, computer science and earth and space science.
Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive international database for scientific, medical, and technical information. It contains approximately 18,000 journal titles from 5,000 publishers, and abstracts going back to 1960. More information
Inspec (via Engineering Village)
The Inspec database is an invaluable information resource for all scientists and engineers, that contains 13 million abstracts and specialised indexing to the world's quality research literature in the fields of physics and engineering. (From Website)
DBLP Bibliography
The DBLP server provides bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. Initially the server was focused on DataBase systems and Logic Programming (DBLP), now it is gradually being expanded toward other fields of computer science. You may now read "DBLP" as "Digital Bibliography & Library Project".
ACM Digital Library
ACM DL includes full-text access to conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and journals, covering topics in: computer technology, online education, software engineering, programming, networking, human-computer interaction, artificial intelligence, and information systems.
Web of Science
Indexes 8,5000 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1945 - present.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library contains ebooks and journals in many areas of engineering and optics.
Computing Research Repository
CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository. CoRR is available to all members of of the community at no charge. (FROM WEBSITE).
Scholars Portal Journals
Almost 9,000 full-text academic journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. Keyword searching to identify articles on different topics is supported.
Compendex
Astronomy, Biophysics & Biomedical engineering, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics.
Computer Database
Full-text database of trade literature in the fields of computer science and technology.Particularly strong in software, product and technology reviews. Coverage is 1983 - present.
General Science Abstracts
Indexes general science topics in the life sciences, physical and chemical sciences and medicine. Covers subjects such as biology, botany, conservation, earth science and environment. It covers a variety of document types including feature articles, interviews, book reviews, biographies, obituaries, product evaluations and practical do-it-yourself information. Appropriate for beginning undergraduate science and natural science students who need to search general science topics.
Google Scholar
A subset of regular Google, it allows users to search for articles from all disciplines. Content is heavily skewed towards scholarly and scientific information; however, humanities and social science content is present, as is non-scholarly material.

Search Tips

When searching online, various words are used to help broaden or narrow your search. Here are a few tips you should know before searching any academic database:

Boolean operators: Most internet and electronic databases follow the rules of boolean logic. Boolean logic refers to the relationships (connections or differences) between different search terms. The most common boolean operators are:

AND - used to narrow a search and establish more relevant results by linking keywords together (e.g. "behavioural" and "psychology").

OR - broadens a search and get more results. Typically used for synonyms and words with variant spellings (e.g. "self-actualization" and "self-identity").

NOT - use to narrow a search and get more relevant results (e.g. "behaviouralism" not "humanism").

Truncation: used to find similar words with different endings

e.g. human* searches "human and humans"

e.g. educat* searches "education", "educate", "educational" etc

asterisk (*) searches for various different endings of a word in most databases (including York University), however LexisNexis uses an exlamation mark (!).

Other Tips

Advanced Search - this option is available on most databases, and allows you to specialize your search based on documents (books, articles, video etc), date, geographic location, language, etc.

Quotation Marks - using quotation marks will allow you to search for exact phrases. For example, searching "mental impairment" will only retreive searches with both "mental" and "impairment" together in that order.

Refine Search - many online databases allow you to specify your search criteria after selecting your keywords and clicking on search.

Finding a Specific Journal - if you know the name of the journal you are looking for, type it in the library catalogue, then select "Periodical Title", then hit "go".

Computer Science: Indexes & Databases - Find Journal Articles

Google Scholar Search

Lib X - "Find it at York" using Google Scholar