Ecology: Invasive Species

This portal provides access to Canada-wide information on forest invasive species. Members of the public can sign up free of charge to access and search the FIAS databases and the document library. Links are provided to member organizations and government branches as well as policy documents, laws and regulations, etc.

Canada's National Forest Information System (NFIS) provides Web tools, ranging from simple portrayal to sophisticated analyses, to users from anywhere in the world. Users can discover, integrate, and display this current, authoritative and accurate information on Canada's forests and on sustainable forest management.

Canada's National Forest Information System (NFIS) provides Web tools, ranging from simple portrayal to sophisticated analyses, to users from anywhere in the world. Users can discover, integrate, and display this current, authoritative and accurate information on Canada's forests and on sustainable forest management.

The purpose of this system is to provide information necessary for assessing genetic conservation requirements of native tree species of Canada. It includes information concerning threats to genetic diversity (e.g., invasive alien species), species biology and ecology. With this knowledge, management strategies can be developed and objectives for conservation management of populations at risk can be determined, usually including ex situ (off-site, e.g. germplasm collections) and in situ (on-site, e.g. protected areas) conservation. This system, which has the ability to acquire and utilize information from other sources, can be used to compile national level information.

The Invasive Species Centre is a not-for-profit entity which is co-located with the Great Lakes Forestry Centre in Sault Ste. Marie. The new ISC facility, which is shared with the CFS Insect Production and Quarantine Laboratory, was constructed with government of Canada and Ontario provincial government funding. This website provides an excellent collection of links to Canadian invasive species initiatives.

Includes links to Publications, Funding agencies, Federal departments partnering in invasive species control, etc.

The OIPC is a non-profit, multi-agency organization founded in April 2007 by a group of individuals and organizational representatives who saw the need for a coordinated provincial response to the growing threat of invasive plants. The OIPC contracts its business office support from one of the OIPC Board member organizations, the Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters.

The Auditor General of Canada is an Officer of Parliament who audits federal government departments and agencies, most Crown corporations, and many other federal organizations, and reports publicly to the House of Commons on matters that the Auditor General believes should be brought to its attention.

This fieldguide will aid with identification, collection and reporting of aquatic invasive species in Ontario waters

The Global Invasive Species Database is a free, online searchable source of information about alien and invasive species that negatively impact biodiversity. It focuses on invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity and natural areas and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants.
The Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) is managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the IUCN Species Survival Commission.

plants, insects and other invertebrates and animals