Ecology: Nomenclature

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Map of Life, a collaborative project hosted by Yale University and the University of Florida, endeavors to tackle this challenge by providing comprehensive biodiversity information that integrates data from a large number of sources, including museums, conservation groups, government agencies and individuals.

This website is a "portal to all living things -- the world's flora and fauna". It links to multiple resources including the Tree of Life, Global Mapper, etc.

This is a project to document all named animals, plants and other life forms on earth. It includes images and information on a wide range of species and it an excellent tool for anyone studying ecology or biodiversity.

Limit by Subject in left navigation bar

This portal collates authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. It is a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. Searching ITIS will provide links to information about species from multiple databases and collections worldwide. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership provides the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).

ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®