LibGuides: Business Ethics: ESG & Sustainability Rankings

CSR Videos

Many of these videos feature CSR practices or business ethics issues documented in the context of specific companies.

Films on Demand Streaming videos on business topics, some 90 titles on business ethics,and some 30 titles on social, ethical and legal issues (marketing) and over 90 titles listed on social, ethical and legal issues (management).

Key Databases/Online Guides

Sustainalytics
ESG Risk Ratings - This universe has the most wide-reaching coverage of analyst based ESG Risk Ratings in the industry/market and covers an additional 3,700+ companies, bringing the total to over 16,000 issuers.

Controversies - For Controversies research, we monitor 700,000 news items from more than 60,000 media and NGO sources on a daily basis, in order to identify potential incidents for a universe of over 17,000 issuers.

Product Involvement - Product Involvement research provides coverage of more than 17,000 issuers of equity and fixed-income securities in emerging and developed markets.

Historical data for 2009-present are available as well upon request.
more...less...
ESG Risk Ratings: ESG Risk Ratings are designed to help identify and understand financially material ESG risks at the security and portfolio level. To this end, the ESG Risk Rating captures an issuer’s exposure to material, industry-specific ESG risks and an issuer’s management of those risks. The ESG Risk Rating provides an overall company score based on an assessment of how much of a company’s exposure to ESG risk is unmanaged. The more of this risk that is unmanaged, then the higher the ESG Risk Rating score.
Controversies Research: Controversies Research identifies companies involved in incidents and events that may pose a business or reputation risk due to the potential impact on stakeholders, the environment or the company’s operations. Our controversy assessments can be used alone for screening or engagement, or they can be used in conjunction with ESG Ratings & Research to better understand a company’s overall ESG performance and risk exposure.
Product Involvement: Product Involvement enables to identify companies involved in a range of product areas. This research includes details on how a company is involved in one or more areas as well as the degree of involvement, generally using revenue as a proxy.
Sustainalytics Academy
An online portal includes product methodology documentation, FAQs, video tutorials, and more for first-time users and for deepening users' knowledge and enhanced use of Sustainalytics' research.
Industry Canada: Corporate Social Responsibility
Includes initiatives by industry, standards, a CSR toolkit and information and links. Check out the Individual Company Activities under Initiatives by Industry to learn what the top 50 Canadian companies are doing in the field of CSR.
Canadian Business Ethics Research Network (CBERN) E-Library
An index of publications on Canadian research and activities in the area of business ethics including CSR, governance, sustainability, SRI, etc. Some articles and reports relate to specific company practice. Provides access to full text documents and links to websites where documents can be accessed. CBERN members, partners, and CBERN student research assistants all contribute to CBERN’s e-Library

BRYT (Business Research for York Toolkit)

Many large publicly-traded and privately-held companies produce corporate social responsibility reports.

Locate CSR Reports and Learn How to Read Them(PDF)

Find third party research reports on Canadian and American publicly-traded companies through Sustainalytics.

Take our guided tour of Sustainalytics and learn how to find CSR research in 2 minutes! (link opens Sustainalytics with the guide on the left-hand side)

Company CSR Reports

Sustainability Disclosure Database (Global Reporting Initiative) The Search area provides users access to all types of sustainability reports.The Benchmark tool allows users to compare the levels of disclosure among reports that use GRI’s Framework, facilitated by filter options for Region and Sector.

Corporate Register.com is a useful web site for searching sustainability/CSR corporate reports and provides a searchable database of reports for over 10,000 companies globally. Sign up required.

Using Articles to Find Info on Corporate CSR Practices

When looking for information about CSR practices of companies articles can often be a very useful source of information, e.g. articles in trade magazines, the popular press, company press releases or newspapers.

Explore our finding business articles guide below to get links to useful databases you can use to find articles, as well as tips on searching them:

Finding Business Articles