LibGuides: Business Ethics: MGMT 2060 / MSTM 5050

Resources on company responses

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Other resources in Factiva include newswires, news web sites, blogs and podcasts, and many trade and popular magazines.

Find business articles

Resources on industry ESG research

This database works on all platforms and browsers. Once in Mergent Online, click the Investext tab to access the database. It contains full-text financial reports and forecasts prepared by the world’s leading investment banks and consulting and research firms. Provides access to financial analysis for over 11,000 companies. Useful for competitive analysis, researching industry trends, conducting market research and company studies. American, Canadian and International in scope. Consult this Investext Search Tip Sheet and Premium Contributors List to learn how to use this database effectively.

Bronfman Industry Research Guide

More databases that provide industry research.

Associations Canada

Professional and trade associations are often very good sources for industry trends and statistics. Many professional and trade associations publish magazines known as trade journals.

Top Database for industry ESG research and company responses

Sustainalytics
ESG Risk Ratings are designed to help investors identify and understand ESG risks at the security and portfolio level. It captures a company’s exposure to material, industry-specific ESG risks and a company’s management of those risks. The ESG Risk Rating provides investors with an overall company score based on an assessment of how much of a company’s exposure to ESG risk is unmanaged. The more of this risk that is unmanaged, then the higher the ESG Risk Rating score.

Sustainalytics’ Controversies Research identifies companies involved in incidents and events that may pose a business or reputation risk due to the potential impact on stakeholders, the environment or the company’s operations.

The sources of information used in the two products are different. ESG Risk Ratings use Corporate disclosure, Media coverage and NGO reporting. Controversy Research analyses a wide range of international and local news and NGO sources.