Business History: General Works

This multivolume set is a work in progress, providing brief essays on the historical development of approximately 3500 major companies. The first volumes group companies by industry; later volumes list companies alphabetically, but also include an industry index, as well as a cumulated company index covering all volumes issued to date. The set includes publicly held, private, and non-profit companies in addition to some state-owned companies. Companies are selected for inclusion based on annual sales, and for their influence within their industry or in their region. Entries contain legal name; address; phone; fax; and website, if available; incorporation date; number of employees; recent sales figures; SIC codes; stock exchange; a summary of the corporate mission and goals; lists of principal subsidiaries, divisions, and operating units, and, if available, references to articles for further reading.

Covering corporate changes in Canada since 1929. "First published in 1981 as The Financial Post Survey of Predecessor & Defunct Companies, this book is a cumulative record of Canadian corporate changes which have occurred over time."

Contains comprehensive abstracts of articles on American business history published in a wide variety of U.S. and foreign journals during the years 1973-1982. The arrangement is by 10 broad subject categories which include, amongst others, banking, communications, energy and manufacturing . Access is by subject, corporate name and author.

This volume offers a detailed statistical analysis, by state and industry, of the foundation of entrepreneurship during the formative years of the republic. The author gathered, from state reports, the numbers, types and longevity of incorporations in a dozen or more of the states having greater concentrations of population and industrial development. Includes statistical analyses.

Please see chapter 10 for "Business and employment records" by Kory L Meyerink. Written from the point of view of the genealogist, this section from chapter 10 includes a general history of types of United States business and employment records from colonial times to the twentieth century along with discussion of the best ways to locate them.

he main volume lists almost 10,000 businesses founded in the United States between 1687 and 1915, arranged alphabetically by company name and chronologically by founding date.

This volume, edited by historians, is not a directory of corporate archives but instead makes a strong case, based on several examples, of the need for corporations large and small, to establish archives and formal histories rather than depending on "institutional memories" of individuals.