Research before your researchReference texts and guidesArchives & Special Collections fonds registerYork University RecordsSpecial Collections at York University
Background ResearchShould you be at an archive?Differences between archives and libraries
How to read a finding aidFinding an archivesVisiting York University's ASCArchives in TorontoArchives in OntarioArchives in CanadaArchives in other countriesHow to request material from the ArchivesRequesting photocopies, scanned images and reproductions
Citing archival materialCompiling a Bibliography
This is the "Home" page of the "Archival Research Tutorial" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archival Research Tutorial  

Archival materials give you direct access to the time or event you are studying. The goal of this guide is to help you conduct research at the Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections at York University Libraries.
Last Updated: May 29, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/archival-research-tutorial Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections
Contact Info
Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections
305 Scott Library
York University Libraries
4700 Keele Street
Toronto, Ontario
M3J 1P3
Hours:
Monday - Friday - 10:00am-4:30pm
Saturday & Sunday - closed
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Julia Holland
 

Acknowledgements

This research guide was originally developed in 2005 by Carolyn Caseñas, Adjunct Archivist, Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections, Scott Library, York University and Katherine Kalsbeek, Librarian, Rare Books and Special Collections, University of British Columbia. It has subsequently been revised and developed by Anna St.Onge and other archives staff.

 

Overview

Welcome to York University's guide on conducting archival research. This guide will introduce you to the archival resources held by the Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections (ASC) and methodologies needed to successfully complete your papers and assignments. 

Getting Started 

Research Before Your Research |  Reference texts and guides  |  ASC fonds register  |  ASC university records register

 

Choosing Your Topic

Background Research  |  Should I be in an archive?

 

Basics Facts About Archives

How to Read a Finding Aid  |  Finding an Archives  |  Visiting York University's ASC  |  Other Archives in the GTA | Other Archives in the Province Other Archives in the country | Other Archives in the world

 

Check List

 

Writing Your Paper

Citing archival sources |

 

 

Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Who's Who of The Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections

The Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections is managed by a small team of dedicated archivists, an archives technician and York University undergraduate students.

Portrait of Michael Moir

Michael Moir is university archivist and head of The Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections

Michael Moir began his career as an archivist in 1982, and served as Records Manager/Archivist for the Toronto Harbour Commissioners from 1984 to 1995.  He was appointed Manager of Archival Services by the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, and became the Director, Corporate Records Systems and City Archivist for the new City of Toronto in 1998.  Michael joined York University in July 2004, and taught a course on “Specialized Archives” at the University of Toronto's Faculty of Information in 2005 and 2006. His research interests include the history of Canadian shipbuilding, and port and harbour management in Canada during the 19th and 20th centuries.

He served as President of The Champlain Society from 2004 to 2010.  When not attending meetings or filing old paper or electronic files, Michael serves as Pipe Major of the Scarborough Pipes and Drums and the Pipes and Drums of 32 Service Battalion, a Canadian Army Reserve Unit.

For more information regarding Moir's research interests and teaching see his faculty profile here.

Portrait of Suzanne Dubeau

Suzanne Dubeau is Assistant Head of the archives.  A graduate of the University of Toronto's Faculty of Information Studies, Suzanne has chaired the Archeion Standing Committee for the Archives Association of Ontario (AAO) is currently Managing Editor of the Association of Canadian Archivists' scholarly journal Archivaria.

Portrait of Anna St.Onge

Anna St.Onge is archivist in charge of Digital Projects and Outreach.  She holds a B.A. in History and Celtic Studies from the University of Toronto, and a Master of Information Studies degree from the University of Toronto with a specialization in Archival Studies and Book History & Print Culture.  Currently chair Archeion, her research interests focus on censorship, popular culture, issues of privacy, silence, trauma and disclosure in the archival papers of individuals.

Portrait of Julia Holland, archives assistant

Julia Holland previously worked almost eight years with the United Church of Canada / Victoria University Archives in Toronto. A graduate of the University of Toronto's iSchool and the Archives Technician Program at Algonquin College, she draws her extensive experience gained through previous positions in community, municipal, health, religious and academic archives in Ontario.

Support staff

The Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections works in collaboration with other departments in York University Libraries to ensure the preservation, description and cataloguing of our holdings.  We are also assisted by a part-time archivist who assists in the processing of back-logged accessions.  In addition our reading room is staffed by York University undergraduate students.  Job opportunities for students will be posted at the main library job site here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip